We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO SNACK MACHINE!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Helen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Helen to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x Points Package
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GA
1 review
“NO SNACK MACHINE!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

This is a really nice hotel and all, downside being the price. However there were a couple of annoying incidents. The door to the balcony had to be slammed shut but we did not know this so we shut the door and left for the evening. When we came back that night and got ready for bed, I realized there were several of those annoying small miller bug nightime flying thingies around lights and around our bed. It was then I realized the balcony door had to be slammed shut after leaving it open all evening for the bugs to settle in. The hottub was really nice, we had a good time in there. It was very accessible to downtown Helen in a quiet peaceful location. You know sometimes how you get the craving for a midnight snack? Well forget it at this hotel! I walked around and around the hotel with several signs misleading me, guiding me in the wrong direction during my time of late night hunger. Ended up in the corner of the top floor staring at two empty hoses where the vending machine once stood. Sad........

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    108
    61
    22
    11
See reviews for
125
201
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed with a group of 30 or so. Did not have a river view, but didn't really care. Loved the covered parking area. The beds were comfortable with several types of pillows so you can choose your firmness.
The front desk man was a real delight! Friendly and helpful. A real joy. SO MANY hotels' front desk staff seem indifferent, like you are bothering them. This guy never EVER seemed annoyed by our many questions. Its great having a free breakfast in a town with overpriced restaurants. An easy walk to a small and very quaint grocery/deli. Don't let the fact that it is a block off main deter you! its a VERY easy stroll to all the main street shops a block away and the small parklike setting at the rear of the property that sits on the river is a LOVELY peaceful getaway in a sometimes hectic town.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. Our room was a lovely suite that included a fire place. We were suppose to have a river view but could not see the river. There is an area in the back of the property that has benches and tables for you to sit at. It's not worth the river view upgrade unless you visit in winter. When the trees are in full bloom it resricts the water view. The hotel is close to all of downtown Helen. We parked our car at check-in and never had to use it. You can walk everywhere. In only a few minutes you are right at the main street. Hampton Inn is one of the best locations to stay at and we will stay here in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Fl
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We were in Georgia on a business trip and always stop by the town of Helen for some good times. We had booked a regular room before arriving and found out how reasonable the suites were so we upgraded. We receieved a large, clean room with a view of the windmill in the mountains.

The suite consisted of a nice living room area with fireplace, a comfy bedroom, a HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub and a small kitchen area (big enough to eat in with mini fridge and microwave)

We really enjoyed our stay here and slept like rocks. Also got to walk to the main drag and check out the local restaurants and drink some good german beer!

  • Liked — The fireplace
  • Disliked — No circulation in the kitchen area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

There is no such thing as a bargain in Helen when it comes to overnight stays. I haven't explored the B&B options, but it's worth looking into before forking over $100 for a basic franchise. The Hampton Inn is as high-end as it gets in this town in the way of motel/hotels.

This location was clean and comfortable. Location was not on the main drag but only 2 blocks from main street, an easy walk. Fridge and microwave in room was A+ for families. Complimentary breakfast was hot and well stocked with a variety of continental options. The pool is small, outside and detached from the hotel unit. The WIFI connection was unpredictable but the staff was quick to help resolve any technical issues via a support phone call. I've stayed at nicer Hampton's, but I've had worse too. This falls middle of the road on quality but isn't a value.

As a Hilton HHonors member I asked for an complimentary upgrade to a river-view room (which was barely visible from the balcony due to trees) and was denied. The hotel was less than 50% full, but they were not willing to upgrade for free (I was quote almost $40 extra for a room with a view).

  • Liked — Free breakfast, clean, friendly, location
  • Disliked — Price, nothing special/memorable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I checked in at 3:40pm and the gentlement checked me in fine, I paid cash for 1 night stay but the next day intstead of my leaving my keys in my room for check out I thought I was doing a nice thing by taking the keys to the front to let them know I was checking out, I told the girl now working the front desk that I paid in cash the night before so there should not be a balance. As I was waiting for the elevator the lady tells me there is a balance and come to find out the gentlemen that checked me in and who worked for this location for 4 yrs didn't charge me the correct taxes. BEWARE!!! if you pay in cash just leave your keys in the room DO NOT check out at the front desk. This was their error and they still made me pay!

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the incorrect taxes being quoted and the breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Helen last weekend. It was quiet, given its location off main street, and fairly clean. The beds were great and the staff very personable. The hot continental breakfast was perfect for us and our two small children. It was a little pricey ($149.00) but commensurate with the other hotels in-town. I would stay there again. The carpet does need replaced.

  • Liked — Location - away from Main Street
  • Disliked — Carpets, price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Helen

Address: 147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Helen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine-themed village of Helen, Hampton Inn Helen offers in-room WiFi, an indoor pool, business center, fitness room, and free hot breakfast. Balcony rooms and suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.