We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, Bad and Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Helen

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Helen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x Points Package
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Helen
Milton, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Good, Bad and Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on the third leg of our annual trip south. First the good: we loved the layout of our suites. Two separate rooms plus a Jacuzzi bath. The second "good" was the location of the hotel, right in downtown Helen where we could walk to restaurants and the attractions of this faux Bavarian village. The third "good" was the friendliness and efficiencey of the front desk personnel. Now for the bad: this was the dirtiest Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. While our rooms were clean, the carpeted hallways were not vacummed daily, thus showing an accumulation of dirt and debris. However, after I mentioned this to the front desk I noticed the next day the hallways were vacuumed. The seond "bad" was the breakfast. I usually have waffles for breakfast and love the fact that the Hampton Inns provide waffles. However, there was a problem with this Hampton Inn's waffle mix, it was sour. I brought that to the attention of the breakfast hostess (who was at the front desk reading a newspaper) that the waffle mix was sour. She said "Oh, I'll put some new waffle mix in." The next problem was the fruit salad. I don't eat the fruit salad but I could smell it as soon as i walked into the breakfast area, it smelled like garbage. It was that bad and looked it. Also, the orange juice maching was out of order so a pitcher of orange juice was provided. It tasted like there was a rusty tin can in it overnight. The third "bad" was the walls are paper thin. I could hear the children in the room next to me as well at the TV, loud. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk she offered to take $10 off of my room. I didn't want money off my room, just not to hear screaming kids in the room next to me. Overall, this Hampton Inn, while well located appears to be worn and in need of a renovation, cleanliness and attention paid to providing fresh ingredients for breakfast. I hate to say this about a Hampton Inn because we always make a point to stay at a Hampton Inn because of their dependable reputation, but this Hampton Inn let us down. We hope these problems are take care of because we would like to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so sorry that you encountered a problem during your stay here with us. We are striving to improve our guests' satisfaction and thanks to your comment, we are able to address those issues. Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    84
    51
    20
    11
See reviews for
101
141
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a two night stay in Helen at the Hampton Inn. The staff was very welcoming and ready to help when needed. Room décor and cleanliness were above average. The breakfast buffet was above and beyond especially with the help of Brenda. She was so friendly and willing to help with whatever we wanted. Our group was a bit loud when we returned from the rehearsal dinner but Dale was patient and quick to offer an alternative spot in the hotel for our gathering. We would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Helen, GA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Now and then you find a Hampton that breaks their mold. This hotel does just that.

Situated in the Disneylandesque town of Helen, with its Bavarian theme, it certainly joins in the mood,. Only its breakfast brings you back to earth.

Rooms are good, with usual amenities, and service was very good, particularly the Angel on the front desk.

Plumbing a little loud at times.

We were there mid-week, mid April, and so no gridlock from visitors.

Worth a visit.

I would stay again, and would recommend.

Room Tip: The suites are quite spacious and comfortable, and some rooms have a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Helen GA twice. The hotel is clean, centrally located just off the main street of town. The staff is friendly and always willing to provide recommendations of things to do, places to eat and a little bit of history about the town. During the warmer weather this would be a great family vacation and during the cooler weather a great get-away for romatic weekend. Try it...you will love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent service. Cleanliness of rooms superb. Staff very helpful , welcoming, supportive. Quiet, beautiful outdoor setting. Breakfast excellent. Lovely balcony. Access to internet great. Reasonable price, fees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Helen and that was mostly due to the great experience I had at this hotel. The check in was prompt. All staff was professional and courteous. The internet was high speed and easy to connect to. The fitness room was well stocked and quiet. The breakfast was more like a buffet. I wish I could have stayed longer than 4 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way home. Rooms were adequate. Nice location for walking & shopping. Right across street from hofer's. gotta try it for breakfast or lunch. The mtn climber was great. Close to Lincoln walking park. Nice & free. Not very busy this time of year. Would have liked to tube the river.
The hotel does have a strange entrance. You pull under the hotel & take the elevator up to the 2 nd floor. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Helen

Address: 147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Helen 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine-themed village of Helen, Hampton Inn Helen offers in-room WiFi, an indoor pool, business center, fitness room, and free hot breakfast. Balcony rooms and suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.