We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Helen GA

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Helen GA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Super 8 Helen GA
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8396 S. Main St., P.O. Box 1085, Helen, GA 30545   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Helen
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff was nice. The kids liked the heated pool. There was a variety for the free breakfast. There was a roach crawling on the refrigerator as soon as we arrived in the room to unpack. The beds were not comfortable at all. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to a friend. But if you want to stay right in town in walking distance to everything and dont mind cheap hotels then you will like this one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    50
    30
    11
See reviews for
70
91
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Called to check if pool was heated and told it was warm and cozy.It was near freezing ,yes it was heated because steam coming off the water but just enough to keep it from freezing.Heater is way too small or turned way down.Rest of the place was ok breakfast was virtually non exesistant and the beds were well worn but comfortable and room was ok.Good value for under $60 winter rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I loved my stay here, the lady that checked me in was so sweet, helpful, and down to earth. It was a great deal. The room was very clean, and nice. I am definitely staying here everytime I come to Helen, which may very well be very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms above the office are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACWORTH
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

1. Tried to charge more at desk than what we booked online
2. Very uncomfortable mattresses & pillows
3. Free Wifi was non-existent except in the office
4. We walked into a wide-open room at 7 p.m.,and frantically think our room had been broken into. Before we could call anyone, the maid walks in. At 7 p.m., after leaving our room WIDE OPEN.

In the future, I'll pay a little more to get the rates I book online, have a more comfortable room, actually have wifi that I can use in my room, and not have a heart attack when maid service shows up well after normal operating hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located a short distance from the main shopping area plus is close fast food Wendy's and the huddle house if you need something quick. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The heated pool is nice but walking back to your room might make you a little cold since the pool doesn't attach to the main building. The complimentary breakfast has cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and fruits. The office is open 24 hrs for your convenience plus has coffee all the time. The only complaint I have is the rooms need to be updated.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were staying only 1 night to ring in 2013. Great location for walking downtown. This hotel needs some upgrading but is ok for overnight. Unfortunately we had to stay in a smoking room and there was ashes left on some of the towels in the bathroom. Don't worry, before we left I put all towels in the floor so they would have to put clean ones in. On a more positive note...front desk attendant was VERY friendly. We will try again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Helen GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Helen GA

Also Known As:
Super 8 Helen Ga Hotel Helen
Super 8 Helen Ga Hotel
Helen Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Helen
Super Eight Helen
Helen Super 8
Helen Super Eight
Address: 8396 S. Main St., P.O. Box 1085, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Helen GA 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of a beautiful Alpine Village, we are only a short walk to shops, restaurants, bars,and hiking trails.Surrounding our serene mountain hide away are exciting adventures such as hiking on the Appalachian Trail, tubing down the Chattahoochee, visiting Folk Art Pottery Museums, panning for Gold and other precious gems, and of course, going to Baby Land General, home of the Cabbage Patch Kids!We offer select pet friendly rooms,smoking and non smoking rooms, and suites. Each room includes microwave and refrigerator and a Superstar breakfast every morning.If your traveling with your family or looking for the next destination for your travel group, we hope you will choose Super 8 for your lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Helen GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Helen GA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.