We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8220 South Main Street, PO Box 319, Helen, GA 30545   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Lakeview, Alabama, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location and breakfast are great. That might be the only good thing I have to say about this hotel.
We reserved the king bed, jacuzzi, fireplace, balcony with view of the mountains suite. Immediately upon check in to our room, we discover the bathroom had not been cleaned, i.e., hair on the floor, dirty water and paper from soap wrappers in the drain, etc. After unpacking, we went to the front desk on our way to explore town to tell the woman at the front desk. I asked that our bathroom be cleaned. She asked what part of it? I told her about the shower and floor, but why not just clean to whole thing?! When we returned several hours later, the floor had been sprayed with some cleaner that made it sticky, but that was it. The soap wrappers and dirty water still in the shower. Yuck. We NEVER used the shower once on the trip. I admit I am a neat freak, but at least clean the bathrooms!!

The Jacuzzi was in the main room, and it was fine. A little small for two people and some of the jets didn't work, but overall it was okay.

The fireplace is a built in to the wall. It has a timer above the bed. The timer ticks very loudly while the fireplace is on. VERY loudly like a bomb is going off above your head. Same with the heater in the bathroom.

The "balcony" on this first floor room overlooks a parking lot, a road, another parking lot, and then trees past that. Hardly a "mountain view." We couldn't sit out there because of people coming and going in their cars and walking through the parking lot, so don't let the "balcony with mountain view" be the reason you reserve this hotel.

The breakfast was the same every day: sausage patties, gravy, scrambled eggs, and biscuits. Cold cereals, pre-packaged muffins and danishes, and oatmeal packets were available. On the last day, the eggs were cold.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know, and I will not stay here again. Perhaps if the bathroom had been cleaned, I would feel differently.

Room Tip: Do not expect a mountain-view balcony. All the "balconies" overlook a parking lot, road an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    75
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
64
111
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As you check in the free cookies are the beggining of a great visit.the food bar in the llobby is also offering juice and coffee allday.we went for octobafest and found this to be a great central location in town.the staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. we enjoyed our stay.The morning hot breakfast was great and included cereal and pastries also .I enjoyes the bisquet and hot gravey.we took a wrapped pastry to snack on.room had a refiirator and microwave.!!

Room Tip: only stay on groud levvl near lobby since lobby is prettywith big stone fire place.Big Daddy retaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a suite. It was quite comfortable, clean and more up to date than I had expected. The fireplace was a nice touch. Since I eat cereal, fruit and yogurt for breakfast, I cannot comment on cooked breakfast items. Cookies at the front desk were great. It's a comfortable walk to the heart of the activies.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went for a Sunday night stay for Octoberfest. The hotel is down main street from the center of Helen but a very short walk. Room is standard hotel room plus sofa (pull out). All the usual amenities soaps, shampoos, clean towels plus the bonus of a small fridge and microwave if you needed those things.

Our room was in the 120-220 range on right side of the building. Directly across from Big Daddy's. We got back to the room after diner and Big Daddy's was playing music quite loud. Since it was Sunday we waited until 11:00pm in hopes it would stop. The bar is literally right across the small parking lot so it was to loud to sleep. Was called he front desk and they said they would give them a call. Low and behold about 10 minutes later the volume was lowered to where we could not hear it at all. Just a warning for anyone staying here. Not sure it will be quiet on a Friday or Saturday if you are in the 120-130 or 220-230 rooms as there is a large outdoor deck at this bar. Ask to be on the other side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Big Daddy's bar and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. We have stayed at other hotels in Helen but had never stayed here. I will always stay here now. The hotel is in a great location on Main Street. You can walk anywhere in town. The included breakfast was the best we have ever had in a hotel. They have it catered so it is not the usual fare. The rooms were spacious, noise free and very clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was at full capacity but it did not deter from the service. I will be back and will tell all my traveling friends about it. Bigg Daddys next door has great food and drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went for Octoberfest and was blown away by the staff, location, rooms, free breakfast. I can't say enough about this hotel. You won't be sorry staying at this location. You will also enough "Big Daddy's" located next door

Room Tip: Second floor have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Went there for Octoberfest, and the staff was awesome! The King bed was 5-Star! From the free breakfast, to the central location. This is the first review I've ever done, but we enjoyed ourselves that much! Stay here and you will not be sorry!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen

Address: 8220 South Main Street, PO Box 319, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#5 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riverpark Inn And Conference Center Alpine Helen
Best Western Plus Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen Hotel Helen
Best Western Helen
Helen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.