We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting if you like model trains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlemagne's Kingdom

Charlemagne's Kingdom
8808 North Main Street, Helen, GA 30545
(706) 878-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Attractions in Helen
Type: Tours, Museums
Attraction details
Dothan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting if you like model trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The older couple is interesting to talk to and the exhibit is extensive. You really need to like model trains to appreciate the display.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was one of the draws to Helen, Georgia when my husband and I went to visit last weekend. It was quite cool and it was interesting . My husband is a big model train and train layout enthusist and he was really noticing the details. You can tell the owners spent a lot of time and really loved his Kingdom. It was kind of odd that there was no rhyme or reason to the layout (old buildings, UFO's, etc.). It was a nice place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A MUST see for any train lover!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A wonderful model railroad display of an Alpine Village in Germany handmade by the owner and his wife over a 20 year time period!! Lots of attention to details in the layout. The owner and his wife run the place and are delightful to talk with while your children play and shop in the toy store attached to the museum. Enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun for All Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

During a weekend trip to Helen, for Oktoberfest, we stopped by this nice attraction. The owner will welcome you as you walk into his Train Shop. In a friendly way, he explained his attraction and all of his trains. Very Nice ! I had mentioned that I had visited Germany, and found out I was quite close to his home town. I had told him that me and my girlfriend would like to go back to Germany and see it all from the North to the South. His clever reply was for only $5.00 per person we could do that now ! LOLOL. I recommend this especially with young ones. See if you can count how many Volkswagens you see. Try to find the Dragon. Alot to see and admire the craftsmanship. Highly recommend especially during a cold or rainy day !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great train store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Love the owner and his massive train set that he has taken years to build! It's amazing and he is so full of knowledge and is a very sweet man.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlemagne's Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlemagne's Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.