We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Troll Tavern

Troll Tavern
8590 N Main St # B, Helen, GA 30545
706-878-3117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 66 Restaurants in Helen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Other than the baked tater being undercooked and the prices being a little high this place was OK. The service was great and friendly would def come back again on the next trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    113
    99
    57
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent trip to Helen. We sat outside once and enjoyed the view of people tubing the river. It was raining the second time so we sat inside. The food was overpriced, but that was expected in a tourist town. The service was good and we got our food quickly. The sandwiches and salads were good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We come to Helen every few months and have for the past few years and we would always go to the Troll 2 and 3 times a visit. We loved their food but then it started to change. The schnitzel was always great and fresh and we loved the sweet red cabbage. They changed the sweet cabbage to a vinegar type. This time the schnitzel tasted like it was packaged & frozen from a box and then fried. It was not good!! If you don't like the 3 sides that come with the meal and you ask for fries instead they charge you more. The bratwurst platter tasted like it wasn't fresh either!!! We wont be going back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy-Daisy, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make a point to stop here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Service was immediate. Prices seemed high for the sandwiches we ordered, until we saw the sandwiches! Huge! Probably the best food we had on our getaway. Well worth the money!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Typical tourist food place, it that's what your expecting you wouldn't be disappointed. Have a bite to eat, have a drink enjoy the view of the river, move along.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troll Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Troll Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troll Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.