We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite ( Only) Place to Stay In Helen, GA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Save Saved
You added Riverbend Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   134 River Street, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Wellford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Favorite ( Only) Place to Stay In Helen, GA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visit Helen GA at least 4 times a year. This is the only place we stay. Mark and Geeta do everything they can to make it a good experience. The rooms are nicely furnished, clean, and so comfortable. Housekeeping is prompt, thorough, and accomodating. Once we park we can walk everywhere. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: We have been fortunate to make reservations far enough in advance that we always get the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Me and Geeta are cerainly pleased that you always enjoying our facilities , We sincerely hope to be best hospitality and service again on your next visit
Thanks (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    124
    23
    21
    34
See reviews for
160
308
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Always stay at the Riverbend Motel! The owner is great! He even squeezed us in his last available room because we were a walk in. The bed was so comfortable! The room was very clean! We've been staying there for years in summer and winter! It's a great location to walk around down town without paying for parking! The rooms are newly remodeled and very nice!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoy stay at riverbend , I sincerely hope that if you or any of your friends coming to helen ga , I can again be of service.
Thanks Again (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I visit Helen a few times a year, and what makes my little getaways feel so much better is the management and staff @ The Riverbend Motel and Cabins. The accommodations are so clean and well keep.it's in the perfect location to down town and walking distance to most things. Management is awesome. They are so friendly and the recommendations of owner Mark are very reliable. I recommend anyone who plans on a visit to Helen, is to stay at The Riverbend establishments. It will make your stay 100 % better. Thank you Mark for making my stay so memorable. Kim Stargell, Greenwood,SC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thankyou so much for the great review, its is always a pleasure to make guest have a
memorable vacation.
Thanks (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed Feb.9th in cabin #8 it was real nice & clean we had every thing we needed loved being able to set on the couch & pull curtins back & watch the river so peaceful even though it was just for one night we still enjoyed our selves. Its very convenient to down town & walking distance to most things. We love going to Helen we at least go 4,5 times a year when my husband gets some time off from work we always stay with Mark & Gidia they r wonderful & very nice we always have enjoyed every time that we have stayed there we stay in both placeses cabin or motel they both r very nice & clean and Mark always make sure u have every thing u need & makes sure u have a pleasant stay I would recommend this place to anyone if u wont real nice & kind people & great rooms & cabins that r real nice & clean & very close to town so go & check out River Bend Cabins & Motel see (Mark) my husband & I stayed Feb.9,2013 loved loved loved it awsome awsome place to stay & very friendly & nice owners!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review of our hotel, we contantly strive to provide a
BEST experience to every guest who comes to our hotel, Again thanks and have a wonderful day.
Thanks (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Management was the most friendly I've experienced at any other motel or hotel period. The grounds were prestine and the location is great. It happened to snow the weekend I was there which made it all the more beautiful. Very short walk (<5 min) to the main strip and the river is literally right there. Rooms were very well maintained and I thought the beds were very comfortable. It was evident that this motel is different from a motel chain in that great care went into making sure the rooms were kept in great shape and furnished with very nice furniture.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has best view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us I want to thankyou for such wonderful feedback
once again thankyou and hope to see you soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A last minute getaway from the city life in Atlanta landed my boyfriend and I in Helen, GA. The Riverbend Motel & Cabins was the perfect location to stay for someone unfamilar with the town. Aside from the owner, Mark, being so helpful with recommendations and direction; it was from walking distance to everything you needed for a great time. Cute shops, friendly locals, and beautiful scenary. We stopped into the "Jerk House" located on the same road as our motel, and bought some delicious jerky; and met the sweetest dog, Moose. We walked up the main road less than a half a mile to the nearest package store and was able to snag some wine before heading to dinner at Paul's. I read mixed reviews about the restaurant, but we were not in the mood to have German food (which was what was served in most other restaurants around) so decided to try it out ourselves. I had a crabcake dinner and my boyfriend enjoyed some grilled shrimp and fried oysters. Our server Rachel was friendly, and our dinner was served in a timely manner. Yes, the prices are higher than norm, but I feel like because I was on "vacation" it's always okay to "splurge". When we got to Paul's we noticed there was a seperate bar area with Live Music; so after dinner we were kind of enough to be invited to check it out, thanks to Ms. Linda at the front counter. This bar was definitely full of locals, but again, they were fun and friendly! During our site seeing we noticed a place called "Club Escape" so we made a mental note to go and check it out, so we left Paul's but it ended up being a very young, ghetto crowd. We went back to finish our night at Paul's. On arrival to the Riverbend Motel, after checking in and getting settled; we received a courtesy call from Mark at the front desk to make sure we were satified with our room. We got a king size bed that was super comfortable, a fridge was available for our water, spirits, and snacks; and the bathroom was fine. On our day of departure while getting our bags into the car Mark just happen to be out on the property and was kind enough to ask us if we enjoyed our trip, and thanked me by my name. I thought that was just the most friendliest and kind thing of a business. I will definitely book all of my Helen visits at the Riverbend Motel & Cabins! Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I Appreciate your comment and your kind words,We are always trying our best to go above and beyond and create a good customer service and more value for your money.
Thanks (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Inn keepers were friendly and helpful. If you like staying close to the water this is the place for you. In the summer you could get in the river you are so close. Beautiful view from our room. The room was very clean and updated. Bed was great. I would stay again. Oh yes, right in town nice just ot park car and walk to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on top, 3rd floor have best view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thankyou very much for utilizing trip advisor to review our hotel regarding your recent stay with us, we always make our guest feel at home and we will do our best.
Thankyou (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Address: 134 River Street, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Motel & Cabins 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently downtown. Flat screen TV, PILLOWTOP king OR 2 queen size beds. Each room has a micro/frig, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, HBO and wireless internet. Located on the Chattahoochee River. Picnic tables, BBQ grills. Free local calls. Our beautiful cabins sit along the Chattahoochee River. Each cabin has a cozy loft bedroom, full kitchen and living room equipped with a fireplace, BIG FLAT SCREEN TV & HBO. Some cabins are equipped with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riverbend Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Motel & Cabins Hotel Helen
Riverbend Motel And Cabins
Chalet Kristy Helen
Chalet Kristy Hotel Helen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Motel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.