We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family reunion spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Unicoi State Park & Lodge to your Saves list
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great family reunion spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Forty family members gathered here for the weekend. The staff was outstanding in helping us plan and execute the event. They were all wonderful! We had expected to be in one lodge but that wasn't possible because of the renovation going on. The lodge gathering room was the perfect place to congregate. We used the centrally located fire pits for a hot dog and s'more roast. Downside: the handicap accessible room was poorly located at the very far end of the lodge. The food at both breakfast and dinner was just average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Unicoi for your reunion. We enjoyed having you and thank you for your service compliments. It is always our goal in obtaining excellence, not just average, with anything that we do. I will pass on the information regarding the food so that next time you are here it will exceed your expectations. It is my hope that you will choose Unicoi as your destination of choice in the future. Thank you for your feedback; it is much appreciated.

Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager
P: 706-878-2201 x412
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    111
    81
    39
    18
See reviews for
118
72
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been coming to Unicoi Park for over 16 years and enjoy it every time we go, we love going into the town of Helen, kind of reminds me of my Trip to Germany with the Air Force Reserves back in 1997

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Thank you for the review, your feedback is much appreciated.


Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager

P: 706-878-2201 x412
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We camped in a 43' fifth wheel. It was a VERY tight squeeze! Because it was off season we were able to stay in the Host site, which is the biggest one. The lake was amazing! There is trails to run and hike nearby and attached to the Camp Sites. We will be back during summer to fully enjoy all that the park has to offer like the canoe, lake side snack bar, and beach. The sites are spread out with plenty of space to play. If you haven't been to the Blue Ridge Mountains you must go! The only down side is the laundry. It is one out dated machine in a spider infested concrete room. GROSS.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself at Unicoi. Thank you for your review and for providing feedback on the laundry facility. I will make sure that this gets addressed immediately. Please come back and visit us again in the summer.

Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager

P: 706-878-2201
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was there for a conference last week. I was very disappointed that the Sports Bar there was CLOSED. The lodge was full for the two nights of the conference and there was not a place to congregate in the evening.

Otherwise, the room was nice and the resturant was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I am very sorry about your disappointment with the Tavern being closed. I will pass this on to the appropriate person to prevent this from occurring again in the future. Otherwise, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is my hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,


J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager

P:706-878-2201 x412
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in one of the barrel cabins for a long weekend at Unicoi State Park. We had a great time. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed to be cozy and comfortable. The park is gorgeous and well-maintained. We hiked several of the trails and enjoyed them all. The Lodge staff and park rangers were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am so glad you and your daughter had a great time at Unicoi. We are so glad to have you and thank you for your review. I hope that you will come back in the near future to visit with us again.


Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager

P: 706-878-2201 x412
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

For our spring break trip to the a Smokey Mountians, we chose to have a one night stop on our way and chose Unicoi Lodge. This would be our first time staying and was not sue what to expect. Let me the fist to say if you haven't and please look the up on the web, the staff at the front desk welcomed us as soon as we walked in and made the process fast and painless. Our Rooney was in the lodge the Ash Building rm #619. Our room was very very clean and had everything we needed, a loft for our two girls, two full beds, 36" flat screen tv and the most channels to choose from more than ant hotel we have ever stayed in. The room also had wifi which like everything else was GREAT... Enough said I highly recommend and wii for sure stay again..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Unicoi. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager

P: 706-878-2201 x412
E: jt.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the camp ground but had to cut the trip shirt due to weather. Extremely clean and very nice staff. Location was excellent. I would highly recommend Unicoi State Park to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT_Coggins, Front Office Manager at Unicoi State Park & Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am glad you liked Unicoi and hope our weather is better next time you visit. Please come visit us again soon.


Sincerely,

J.T. Coggins

Front Office Manager
P: 706-878-2201 x412
E: JT.coggins@unicoilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unicoi State Park & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.