We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for "No Frills" Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Inn
Save
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
8580 Main St, PO Box 258, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Helen B&B and Inns
Talking Rock, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for "No Frills" Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We recently had our first "Octoberfest" experience in Helen, GA! Our pick for our stay was the Castle Inn right on Main Street! We were very impressed with the newly renovated rooms including the new flat panel TV's. The location was perfect for an in-town stay! All the balconies are private!!!
There is no elevator and no extra's like a pool or continental breakfast but the location is awesome! We did not get a balcony on the front but our friends did and that was a lot of fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony over Main Street! There is only one "suite". We did not stay in it but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
15
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel really does have a great location. The people at A-1 vacations were very nice as well. We booked Room 203, at $89/night. The room actually has a really nice large flat screen they don't show on the picture on the website. If I would have booked earlier I would have definitely went with a street view room. Even though the parking lot is the main thing you see from the balcony, you could still see the river, it was not a terrible view in my opinion.The balcony was better than expected, although agree with previous reviewers- there are a lot of cobwebs, but it wasn't to an offensive level for us. The room decor was really cute too. Although I saw a couple places at the $60/night price point that were also walking distance to town, I still felt like we came away thinking it was a lot nicer than expected- it's still a motel but overall the room was way nicer than what you would find at some of the competing properties. Bed was ok, a little stiff but we slept like rocks anyway, and lastly I would not say the noise from the restaurant was an issue at all. If you want to stay in the middle of a tourist town you should expect some noise anyway. Overall great experience, would return.

Room Tip: Go for the view of the strip- you can do a ton of people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My family and I visited Helen during Oktoberfest. Having a hotel that was located in the middle of Helen was perfect. We could walk anywhere within 10 minutes. There is a flight of stairs that are on the backside of the hotel that are extremely steep. That would have to be my biggest complaint. The other complaint was the fact there was not a fridge or microwave. If they could be added, they room would have been perfect. Yes, it is an older hotel, but it was very clean and the sheets smelled as if they had just been laundered. The guests have to know a security code to enter the hotel which was a nice feature considering how many people there are walking in/and around the hotel and the Troll Tavern. My family and I will be booking at this location again the next time we visit Helen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatesville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Pro's:
Our stay at this motel was pleasant. The room was clean. Was not expecting cleaning service, that was a nice surprise to come back to a cleaned up room with fresh linens and towels while away from the room. The view of the river was nice and we enjoyed watching the people walking past on the bridge over the river.
There is an ice machine, not a huge one but was enough to do what we needed.

Con's:
The two flights of stairs to get in the room from the parking lot killed me. If you enter from the castle's Front door you only have one flight but that door is closed/locked after 6PM so after 6 you have to walk to back of building and go up the 2 flights of stairs to get in your room and in the early morning it is still locked until the shops start to open up, then they unlock that upper level entrance/exit. No elevator that we could find.
The spiders love the deck rails and they all come out the eat at night when the Castle building lights all up. First night the spiders put me a little on edge but I got use to them after a little while as long as they stayed in their webs. (good note- There were no bugs inside the room what so ever).
There are no refrigerators or micro-waves in the room that we stayed in so be sure to bring a cooler to keep your drinks cold. But remember don't over load the cooler as you have to get it up 2 flights of stairs from the parking lot.

I would return to this motel if it was more easily accessed (elevator) and had a small refrigerator & microwave to store & reheat my carry-out trays from all the restaurants we ate at but with it not having those accommodations at this time I would not rent again from this location unless they remodel to provide easy access and food storage for our next stay.

Room Tip: River view is nice, mountain view is view of parking lot and a hill side (not mountain's like yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is located in the middle of downtown Helen, sharing the building with various quaint little shops and a the Troll Tavern Restaurant. The rooms are located on the third floor. From the street level entrance, you have to take a flight of stairs to get to the security door (opened by a code given to hotel guests for security) that leads to the rooms. From the parking lot, which seems to be at the foot of a hill, you can take a small access door but will have to take 2 flights of stairs. We are not sure if there is an elevator, so it is better to check if you have mobility issues. Our room had a street view, which was the cheaper than the ones with a river view at the time of booking. We were happy with the view since we can do people watching from our room. They have free parking for hotel guests, which helped a lot since you have to pay for parking anywhere in downtown Helen. From the entrance door of the hotel, you are steps away from Helen square and other shopping and dining areas. My husband and I noticed that the Castle Inn was the only one that is very close to all the action in this small town.

One thing that got us confused was we checked in at a separate office, also along Main Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very interesting hotel. Very convenient to downtown Helen. We had a river view room and it was nice to watch people tubing down the river.

Cons:
There is no on-site mgmt. You have to check in and out down the street
No internet
The balcony was covered in spider webs. Not good
No dvd player

But I would still stay here again. The atmosphere was exceptional

Room Tip: Get river view. Check in across from days inn at a1 vacation rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Noisy - if you want sleep don't stay here. No ice in the ice machine. Bathroom counter too small to put anything on but a toothbrush. This place was just old and run down and too much money for what little you get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 8580 Main St, PO Box 258, Helen, GA 30545
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian style building with magnificent views! This Hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Helen on the banks of the Chattahoochee River with fantastic views of the mountains. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms after a full day of; trout fishing on the Chattahoochee River, the action packed family fun of Helen's Main Street attractions, or endless hours of browsing and shopping the most unique shops in the Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Helen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.