We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Helen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Helen to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We recently stayed at this hotel on a family trip. The rooms were very comfortable, very clean. The pool is indoors, but there are french doors that open to a large fenced-in patio area with tables and lounge chairs. This was a nice area for relaxing and close to the kids in the pool without having to be cooped up (and spashed on) directly by the pool.

Good continental breakfast with biscuits/gravy, grits. Eggs were served on one morning only (to my husband's disappointment). Also had waffle makers, good variety of breads and cereals, yogurt each day. Nice size dining area as well. When the dining area began to fill up, the hostesses were quick to offer to open a nearby conference room so that guests could eat without having to take food to their room.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the downtown shops/restaurants.

  • Liked — Clean, good value
  • Disliked — No common area computer access. Internet available, but only if you brought your own pc
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    89
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
108
131
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We were on Spring break visiting Georgia Tech from central Tennessee with our two teens. The north Georgia rural tourism cought our eye in some of our travel books and internet searches. What a Great find!! Helen, Georgia AKA Bavaria of the South has done a nice job of recreating German archetecture and culture. We found the Country Inn and Suites to be reasonably priced, graciously staffed, very pleasant rooms and generous on breakfast. We arrived well after 8pm on the Saturday before Easter. The polite registration staff informed us and other late arrivers of a very nice buffet near the state park just up the highway a couple of minutes. We were also close to Wendys and other familiar fast food places. Two other francise hotels in Helen were listed in the travel coupon books at very low rates. We had seen them reviewed in this forum (buyer beware). Our hotel did not run a coupon, but we paid a very reasonable rate and found the room at Country Inn and Suites to be suprisingly nice for rural Georgia. Due to the record low temperatures this April, we had some difficulty getting the room warm without making it too stuffy. We decided to raise a window and keep the heat on. The bathroom was quite nice, but the single-layer fabric curtain allowed some leaking to the floor. The beds passed the Goldilocks test and then some. (Just right!) The complimentary breakfast could not have been better: free flowing milk, coffee and fruit juices, endless choices from, hot and fresh eggs, sausage, bisquits, grits, and waffles to fruit, cereal, bagels, danish, muffins, doughnuts, toast/jelly etc. This was not only in the first hour of breakfast, we arrived in the second hour.
There was plenty of room to sit and the line of guests had room to prepare their breakfast choices along three walls. There were at least two and maybe more hostesses monitoring and refilling breakfast items and wiping tables. There were three available and genuinely smiling ladies at the front desk on Easter morning. All of the staff down stairs were ladies who seemed to have lived quite a while in Helen or retired there. This was a very pleasant stay in a remarkable region of spectacular waterfalls. I have seen the world class falls of Niagra and of Yosimite, but I did not expect to find such high and large falls in north Georgia. Keep spreading the news about your beautiful north Georgia, city of Helen, and the continental breakfast out of this world.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at many different places in Helen, but this place has got to be one of the best.

1- Very friendly staff

2 -The Foyer, elevators, hallways, were very clean

3 - Our room was clean and fresh. Comfortable bed, nice furnishings, spotless bathroom with plenty of towels.

4 - Free breakfast was more than just muffins and coffee. This was a real breakfast with eggs, sausage, grits, biscuits and gravy. There was also bagels, muffins, cereals, and fruit.

This place also has an indoor pool and exercise room.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Very clean top to bottom.
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

Country Inn Suites is right on the main street of Helen, an adorable Bavarian town in the Georgia foothills. The hotel is very comfortable, with a reception lounge featuring a fireplace and a table constantly replenished with fresh fruit and mints. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a mini fridge, microwave oven, and coffee making equipment. The hotel pool is nicely heated and well maintained as is the good sized hot tub in the same area. There is a workout room with a treadmill and excercise bicycle. The delicious breakfast includes eggs, sausage, bagels, grits, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereal and more. All the main attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. I highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

I booked this room from the recommendations on this website for 3 nights. We had never been to Helen and went up on our motorcycle for some riding in the mountains. I booked a room with a fireplace and king bed. When we checked in we were assigned room 300 on the 3rd floor. When the elevator door opened we could hear the ice machine 10 doors down! Of course it was right across the hall from our assigned room. Well we've traveled enough to know that we don't want to stay next to the ice machine or the elevator. We asked to have our room changed. They were happy to change the room but explained there were no other fireplace rooms available. That we could upgrade to a suite to even get another king. We opted to pay the extra for a king. The room was nice and having the bed in a bedroom with a door that closed insured a quite sleep through the night and early morning. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice.

We did get the feeling that they were aggravated with us for being "picky" but we have had those other experiences that made us smarter. The place is very clean and homey. It really is more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere. We are not into that arrangement much so I don't think I'd stay here again, but just because of that.

The breakfast was really outstanding for a "continental" type breakfast. There was plenty to offer and everything was neat and clean. We did enjoy being able to bring breakfast to our room before we went out riding.

They also have a washer and dryer on the 2nd floor which really came in handy to do our laundry half way through our trip.

We sat on the front porch and enjoyed our drinks we made. There is a liquor store right across the street and a country store just down the street that has everything you could possibly imagine.

We checked out after 2 nights because there just wasn't anything going on in Helen. It was so quiet and it rained quite a bit to hamper the riding in the area too.

I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to or through Helen. They do try to accommodate and make you feel welcome. The pool is great and open until midnight with the last hour for adults only. Parking is good and you can walk to all the stuff downtown without any problems.

  • Liked — Very clean and wonderful sleeping
  • Disliked — Too much Bed & Breakfast feel too much in my business
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get a fireplace room away from the ice machine!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

I visited Helen, Ga in the spring of this year. I stayed at this hotel, and was very impressed with everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Also, the room was really nice and clean. Finally, the home cooked breakfast of biscuits, sausage, bacon, eggs, and gravy as well as fruit, juice. etc was awsome. Much more than I expected for the price. I wish every hotel I have stayed in had been as nice as this one. I highly suggest this one.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Helen

Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft, Jordano's...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Marie is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.