We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Helen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Helen to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Helen
florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Country inn & Suites for 2 nights and we had a good experience, the hotel is in a good location, we walked to the main street and restaurants, only a 5-7 min. walk, room was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was nothing special but had the standard cereal, pastries, eggs and sausage, coffee and juice, enough to start the day as far as I'm concerned. check in and check out were done promptly, staff was courteous and provided information and coupons for attractions, restaurants and directions. Despite the hotel been full according to the staff, we did not have a problem finding a table to eat during breakfast time, and when we checked out very early, everything was already laid out even though it was before 6 AM. We are planning to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Joinville-

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know just how delighted we are to recieve your kind words of praise of your stay with us. It is our goal to make each and every guest feel like family. All of our staff truly appreciate when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and take the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see y'all when you come back our way.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    76
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
94
116
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable but that is where it ended. The breakfast room was tiny and the eggs and sausage were horrible. Front staff did their jobs but were never friendly. Ordinary - just ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear FLSandi_13

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy with your experience.
Please accept my sincere apology.
I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what wer are doing right, what wer are doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and will continue to be addressed so that each and every guest has a great experience with us.
Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel overall was great. The room was clean, breakfast had a good variety, and the indoor pool and hot tub were nice when it was raining. The hotel was located within a walking distance from many shops and restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Christina L

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor about your stay with us. We all here at Country Inn & Suites are delighted the kind words on your review. We hope to see you guys again when you come our way..

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming and informed staff (thanx ms.d)and exceptionally clean facility(our family checked in room 209) hot tub and indoor pool were a much welcome treat after our plans for a day of hiking and tubing were foiled by flash flooding,we found patio area allowed us to enjoy the live music from the restaurant next door. Our son found the library and cookies by the fire are a nice touch as well.I would also like to include that being a artist for over a dozen years I am a VERY heavily tattooed female everyone I encountered were very friendly and inquisitive.THIS IS A FIRST TRIP OF MANY to this quaint little German town :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hey Guys-
Thanks so much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor about your experience at our Hotel. I hate that you guys had to leave early but we all hope that you can come visit us again. We all enjoyed having you all and it was so nice to speak to your husband and learn all about your art work. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was at least the 3rd time we have stayed here and this was the best experience ever. We were granted an early check in and the front desk was so accommodating. The coffee, tea, cocoa and cookies are a family's dream. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so glad that y'all had a good time and hope to see you all real soon. It really means alot to all of our staff to know just how much you enjoyed your stay. I will share this with everyone and thanks again.
Hope to see you soon!!!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

For seven years I have been staying here for the SEVR which is the first weekend of June and starts on the Thursday before. I will continue to come back year after year. The staff has been more than accommodating for the 200 motorcyclist which where stay there, riding the great roads of N. Georgia and surround states and partying through out the night (this week is not for the faint of heart) Thank you Country Inn & Suites, Helen, GA for making it another great year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Charles D,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us!!! We all look forward to seeing the Victory Rally group each and every year. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!. You guys have got to come back sooner. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

For over 20 years, a big group of our friends have been having a get-together in Helen, GA, in the North Georgia Mountains. We have always stayed at the Lodge in Unicoi State Park, but this year they were supposed to be closed for renovations (they later changed their minds), so we found an alternate hotel. Our stay was nothing less than stellar, marred only by finding out one friend's brother had passed away (not at this hotel).

From when we arrived, the check in was friendly and smiling. Our room was spacious, clean, and just plain nice. The only thing that would have made it better was for the hotel to be pet-friendly. The beds were comfortable, although I felt the pillows lacked: one was not enough, two were too many. They should also offer feather pillows. Also: the windows open!!!

We were given the big meeting room to spend time together, and it worked out great (especially since it rained all weekend and we spent a lot of time there). We set up one end with a television and DVD so the kids could watch cartoons or play games, and we sat at tables at the other end, which made it possible for folks to use laptops, do crafts (one friend was knitting, another drawing, etc.), and play lots of board games, or just sit. We were allowed to take our breakfast from the breakfast bar into this room and eat together. There was a small but very solid breakfast bar, with waffles, juice, bread for toast, oatmeal one morning, grits the next (on the grits day they provided instant oatmeal), several kinds of cereal, and some fruit, and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Cookies and coffee were provided all day long, and there was a lovely fireplace and sofas in the lobby where you could also sit, and there was even a bookcase with a variety of books.

In addition, we could enjoy an indoor pool, hot tub, and exercise room, and the wifi was flawless, unlike the Unicoi Lodge's spotty service (a 3G connection was faster and more reliable last year). The hotel is in walking distance of most of the Helen restaurants.

We are ditching the Lodge and coming back to Country Inn & Suites next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the main street. The rooms in the back face a bar and if you have the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear ShadowLass38,

On behalf of our hotel staff, I just wanted to let you know how delighted we were to receive your king words of praise. We are all looking forward to your group coming back next year. Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We strive to make each and every guests night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we all look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Helen

Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft, Jordano's...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Marie is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.