We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great room, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Helen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Helen to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Helen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great staff, great room, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We traveled with my parents to this hotel for an overnight stay. We were given adjoining rooms as I requested. Both rooms were equipped with microwave, fridge, great tv, great AC (THANK YOU!!!). The main bathroom light was out in my bathroom, but it wasn't a problem because the counter above the microwave & fridge easily served as a vanity. It had great lighting, perfect amount of space for all we needed. All of this to say...if you have 2+ people trying to get ready to head out on the town...you have plenty of mirror/vanity space! The kids enjoyed the pool and I liked sitting in the hot tub which really was VERY warm (THANK YOU, again!). It took us a little bit to find where to turn the hot tub on. They could probably use a sign above the switch which is simply a light switch. Breakfast was good. Plenty of drink options, waffles, biscuits (very good), gravy, sausage, eggs, a few mini donuts and danish-type items, breads and bagels, cold cereals, oatmeal...I'm sure I'm forgetting something. The breakfast attendant was VERY conscientious and kept things clean as soon as someone left. All staff we encountered treated us as if we were the most important guest. Very impressed. We did find a few hairs in our room, but I would say they are from the cleaning lady after seeing her the next morning. No complaints regarding cleanliness from our room otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry for the rain- hopefully this wet weather will hurry up and move on out.
We all look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    75
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
91
114
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When we travel, we try to find a Country Inn & Suites, because their reputation is good, breakfast is included, and they generally keep a clean hotel. This hotel in Helen, was easy to find, extremely accommodating, had great coffee free in the lobby, and the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept in! The pool and sauna were very clean and nice as well. The only reason this did not receive a higher rating - first, breakfast on the first day was terrific - all fresh and hot, but on day two, you could tell the food was just warmed up leftovers. It was not satisfying at all! The other down side was the gym - the treadmill did not work. Do I get an "A" for effort, even trying? The refrigerator also was not very cold and we could not find a dial to lower the temp. However, on these last two items, we could have complained and possibly had them fixed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Love that this hotel is smoke free, however, all the smokers go to the front porch so if you are going to your car or entering the hotel, you have to walk through a fog of smoke to get through. Overall, highly satisfied with the stay and would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elaine-
Thank you for letting us know the concerns that you experienced during your stay. I am writting to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
I have and will continue to work on the issues that you have mentioned.
We are so glad that you had a great time at our hotel other than the items that you mentioned. We all hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We came down to Helen for a week night to see family that lived nearby and this was an excellent choice of place to stay. The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was very nice. My boys loved swimming in the indoor pool and the surroundings were very nice. The breakfast was excellent and the cookies are a very nice touch. If we make our way back to Helen for a quick trip or extended stay, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest feel like family. We all hope to see y'all again in the future.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. The room was clean, the bed was ultra-comfortable, there was a new flat screen TV, a fridge and microwave, lightning fast internet connection. Virtually every hotel chain provides some sort of complimentary breakfast. The breakfast here was outstanding though. Fresh grits, yummy. Hot entree, milk choices, fresh fruit, great coffee. It would be hard to improve on these offerings. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. Miss Carolyn does a wonderful job with the breakfast. We all hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First time staying at Counrty Inn and Suites but we will definitely be back. Everthing was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The indoor pool and spa was a great relaxation after a rainy evening. Breakfast was great! Plenty of choices for everyone to pick from - not a continental breakfast. Their friendly staff is sure to keep customers coming back too.

Room Tip: This was just our first stay but our room was on the first floor so it was a short walk to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Paul-
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed the indoor pool and spa, the breakfast and also all of our staff. We strive to make each guest feel like family. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm Regards-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Most likely the best hotel in Helen where customer service goes an extra mile.
This property is my 1st pick when I visit Helen,Ga. The location could be better but who cares when it's customers are pampered and valued by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It really means alot to all of us here at Country Inn and Suites that you have taken the time to let us know what a wonderful time you had. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I just wanted a few days to relax and hike a few trails on our way home after a rough 2 weeks. From the moment of our arrival, we knew it was going to be great. The General Manager/Dana checked us in, and immediately the pampering by the entire staff began. It may not be a 5 Star property, but the family atmosphere,care and hospitality is far better than many of those. Everything was clean, you could not pass a single staff member that they did not greet you with a smile and offer their assistance. The morning breakfast, round the clock lobby fresh coffee w/warm fresh baked cookies and fresh fruit exceeded expectation. The location is optimum for multiple State Parks, waterfalls, shopping and activities.
Thanks to Dana and her staff we have moved this to our new favorite destination. We are already planning another visit.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Helen, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Lee-
On behalf of us all, we are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are here to make sure each and every guest feel like they are welcomed back home. We all stive to give great service and your kind words is truly rewarding when guest such as yourself recognize our staff.
It was so nice to meet you and your wife and we look forward to seeing you guys in April. Thanks again for taking the time to recognize all of our employees.

Sincerely- Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Helen

Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, P.O. Box 1058, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft, Jordano's...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Marie is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.