We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Save
You added Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
33 Munich Street, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Hartwell, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our family has stayed at several locations in Helen, but found this hotel to be in a great location. We will be coming back here again. The staff was friendly. I would recommend the Helendorf to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    37
    24
    16
See reviews for
117
150
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I have been to Alpine Helen GA several times on day trips, but wanted to spend a couple nights this time. We wanted to take our pooch, it is often difficult to find a pet friendly hotel especially in town. I found a couple cabins or motels that took pets but they were 3 to 4 miles from downtown. We didn't want the hassle of schlepping back and forth, especially with traffic into/out of Helen which has basically one road in/out, Main Street naturally. Then I found the Helendorf Inn - we had seen it before and it looked nice. They have pet-friendly rooms in both standard and balcony/patio categories. We stayed in a Riverfront Balcony, which overlooks the Chattahoochee River. In warmer weather, you could watch people "Tubing the Hootch" but in early December it was still a lovely view. You could see the Christmas lights on Main Street from our balcony! The room was nice, had a kitchenette, a very Bavarian feel. The location is fantastic - literally a one minute walk into downtown Helen! We had a great time there, and would recommend the Helendorf to anyone, especially pet lovers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Fl.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in Helen, Georgia on the Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving. Friday evening was the "lighting of the town" and arrival of Santa. The town was bustling! Quaint stores to shop. Horseback riding in the area, zip lining, lots of mini-golf.
Would be nicer if there were more restaurants other than German ones. But overall, a two night stay was delightful.

Room Tip: We had a patio room right on the river, which gave us easy access to the outdoors. I am sure in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband & I LOVED our stay at the Helendorf! This was a Mini-cation before the Christmas season kicks in full force. Our room had a nice King bed that was absolutely super comfortable! The room was spotless! Upon entering our room (upper tower room) there was a little Christmas tree setting on the dining table!!! Super Cute! Very Close to everything...walk to everything within minutes. Check-in staff very friendly & had great food suggestions (did try the Bodensee next door...YUMMY German Food!) The Christmas Parade was great. As was the Christmas Market. We bought lots of nice Christmas goodies! Breakfast was a nice surprise plenty of juice, bagles, pastries, coffee, yogurt & fresh fruit and some very good homemade apple cider (cider was available all day in the lobby) Patio on river side has been newly remodeled, very pretty! Book it you wont be disappointed! The Todt's

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friend and I went to Helen GA for a weekend trip to enjoy the many activities for the Christmas season. After reviewing different hotels here on Tripadvisor, I decided on the Helendorf as it was within walking distance to the shops and activities, and the price was right.
We were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, given information about the free breakfast, wi-fi, and recommendations for restaurants and activities.
Our room was their standard room, 2 queen beds, with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen tv, and the thing that really impressed me was there was a table top Christmas tree. What a nice touch!
Breakfast was standard fare of bagels, danishes. a variety of cereals, yogurt and fruit. There was also a variety of juices, milk, coffee, water for hot tea, and hot apple cider. Coffee and the hot apple cider were also offered throughout the day in the lobby.

A beautiful weekend and enjoyed the Christmas parade, shopping, and visit to the Unicoi Lodge to see the Festival of Trees and Gingerbread house displays.

If you go, check out Old Bavarian Inn for great German food, Hofer's for REAL inhouse made German cakes and pastries, Higher Ground Coffee, The Hayloft Restaurant and Bar for great music and dancing, and Wendell's Country Restaurant in nearby Sautee for a yummy Sunday lunch.
We had a great time and would stay at the Helendorf the next time we are in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We loved every minute of our visit in Helen, Ga. Although the hotel is older, you can tell the upkeep is top priority. Very clean room with a great view of the stream. The staff was friendly & the continental breakfast was a nice treat. The location is about as good as it gets. Leave the car parked & either direction leads you to town. Never seen a city like this. A must see if visiting north GA.
We captured some amazing pictures! Thank you Helen for the wonderful memories :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After checking tripadvisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Helendorf. The hotel is older, but I thought it added to it's rustic charm. We arrived after a 4 hour drive from Knoxville at about noon. We checked in, and though we could not check into our room till 3PM, we were given a parking pass. Since parking is hard to find here, we never had to move our car till we left. We went to lunch at the Old Heidelburg (which was wonderful), and strolled around this quaint little town exploring the cute little shops. We had wanted to stay riverfront, but they would only rent these rooms if we could stay 2 nights. Our room, 217 had 2 queen beds, micro, fridge, and coffee pot. Bathroom sink was outside the bathroom with a large vanity. Ceiling was vaulted with wooden beams which I loved. Bedspreads and shower curtain were both white and were immaculate. Room was very clean. Outside the room were 2 rocking chairs on the walkway. We stopped by the pool, it is heated and enclosed in a greenhouse type structure which was also heated.
Breakfast consisted of a variety of individually packaged juice, cereal, donuts, bagels etc. There were only 2 tables to sit at, but it was very easy to grab something and take it back to your room. Also, there was hot coffee or tea in the lobby all day which was convenient. There was also a Mexican restaurant on the premises, and the food was excellent. Next time I hope we can stay longer and get a riverfront room. We had the best time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Address: 33 Munich Street, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.