We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
33 Munich Street, Helen, GA 30545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Helen
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a river front room and could sit by the river and wait the tubers going down the river. We like that we can be that close to the water. The hotel also in a good location for walking and shopping. The rooms are clean and nice televisions but need some up dating. They have a heated pool but it doesn't stay open to late.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
“Dankeschön”, Thank you! We agree the views from our riverfront rooms and patio are wonderful and we are happy that you had enjoyed your stay. We will be doing more renovations this winter so be sure and come back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    94
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
100
128
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Helen, GA. The Helendorf is definitely an older property. The rooms were rather dated, except for the flat screen TV. I do have the feeling that most other hotel choices would be the same. If you go expecting this the property was fine, just dont look for luxury. There are no toilettries, just one of the old fashioned wall attached "soap" dispenser in the shower. Bring your own soap and shampoo. The continental breakfast was very limited. On the flip side the location was great! Right in town, an easy walk to everything. The balconies all have a great view of the river and you can watch the "river tubers" float by. Also a very nice (new) patio where you can sit or take stairs down to the river itself. All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. If I went to Helen again I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
“Danke”, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay. The Helendorf is an independent hotel and not a chain and we try to provide an old-world, real Helen experience right on the banks of the Chattahoochee River. We are in the process of a renovation as can be seen by our new riverwall and patio that you enjoyed. I would also like to thank you for recognizing the staff, they work hard to provide the best possible stay for our guests! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like Helen, you'll probably love the Helendorf. It's right in the middle of all the shopping and dining, and it's near the tubing venues. Sit out on the terrace and listen to the river, or walk a few steps and explore the downtown scene. Like most of Helen, the 'Dorf is a bit silly with the Bavarian theme in the middle of the Georgia mountains, but it can be fun if you have a sense of humor. The hotel property is far from new, but it's been maintained, and the riverfront patio is very pleasant. The Helendorf isn't exactly cheap, but it's a good fit for most visitors, whether they want to cook in the kitchenette and eat on the private balcony, or perhaps be gone all day and all evening enjoying the local fun. We were asked to pay extra fees for our pets, but the pups enjoyed themselves, too. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
“Dankeschön”, Thank you, for your review and pictures of our brand new riverfront patio. We enjoy providing our guests the best experience possible and strive to make their stay a pleasant one! Signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new rewards program to be launched in Spring 2013. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Clean Rooms, awesome view of the river and visitors going down the hooch on floats, comfortable beds, large flat screen televisions, balcony, right downtown Helen , close to all the shops . A place to cook out right by the river and tables to have your picnic at. Awesome Hotel ! Will never stay any where else. Has a heated in ground pool year round.

Room Tip: Second floor, for a great balcony and view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It is always great to have such an enthusiastic review of the Helendorf. Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again next year and want to hear what you think about the renovations we will be doing over the winter. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2013. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed and what a great stay we had. Staff great, room clean, location was perfect. Can't wait to go back. This is the only place we will stay! Great prices, what more could you ask for? This place is a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
“Vielen Dank”, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I will pass along your comment to the staff and look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to signup for our newsletter and watch for our new rewards program in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Centrally located, big rooms, comfortable beds, clean, great shower. Enjoyed watching some of our fellow travellers scoot their booties down the Hooch. Would stay again on a return trip to Helen.

Gray Sands, Event Coordinator for Music City Miata Club ou of Nashville TN

Room Tip: Do not take room over restaurant/musical venue below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Helen and tubing the Hootch. Location is awesome and right next to the river. I loved being able to sit outside and watch the tubers go by. We even had a picnic out there the first night with food from the adjacent Wendys.
The room was very large and spacious. Beds not the most comfy. A bit on the hard side but linens very nice and very clean. There was a tub too which is a big plus for my family.
Nice indoor pool for the kids to play in too.
The staff were FANTASTIC! Very accommodating and friendly. My husband lost my debit card in the parking lot and one of the cleaning staff found it and turned it in immediately and then we were left messages on our phone both cell and in room as well as messages were left at front desk.
The continental breakfast was an added treat. There were plenty of choices and we enjoyed having this as a bonus each morning.
The stay at The Helendorf was one we will never forget and we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
“Danke”, thank you for your kind comments and the picture your posed. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and will be back! The staff and management are working hard to continue to improve our guest experiences so be sure and look for changes over the winter on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Address: 33 Munich Street, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list