We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Margo's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Margo's Restaurant
1136 W Taylor St, Griffin, GA 30223-2610
(770) 229-4602
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 99 Restaurants in Griffin
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
atlanta georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Tacky chairs, cheap, wobbly booths, the wine selection was slim and overpriced. I believed I ordered the kafta, a lamb and beef blend formed into meatballs, and they were overspiced. Waitresses are civil, to say the best. The owner, goodness, he would not leave us alone. "oh its your first time here? let me stand at your table and spew my horrible breath all over you! and let me talk and talk so you can't order." I would not return to this restaurant. EVER.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chicken Lasagna & Steak Spaghetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoy Margo's. We always order the chicken lasagna (which I don't believe is on the menu) and the steak spaghetti. It never fails, we end up taking home half for lunch the next day. Margo's needs to consider updating and cleaning up a bit, but I can tolerate when they offer yummy food. I went with a group of 10 ladies last week and were served and back at work within an hour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the place you are looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have driven past this place a hundred times at least. The exterior is certainly not boastful. Thank goodness that they recently catered a luncheon at my office, because I have fallen in love with this restaurant!

The staff was super friendly and attentive. My wife and I were made to feel very much welcomed. Because it was our first visit, they were kind enough to offer us a complimentary treat of humus and flatbread, both of which had to be made there. The bread offered with the meal was fresh and still quite warm. What they lacked in size, they more than made up for in flavor. I found the smaller size to be more like a tidy dinner roll.

When the food arrived, the portions were generous and well presented. The red sauce was very flavorful and was alive with wonderful Mediterranean herbs. The noodles were perfectly done and not over cooked, and the meats were succulent and satisfying. We were offered desert, but I was full from the meal. If I had one complaint, it would be that they did not have a cannoli. A good cannoli is so hard to find! I would have ordered half a dozen to take home.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

The owner is very nice and helpful.great service and good food. The decor is old and lacks curb appeal, but the food makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service, Good Prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stopped at Margo's in Griffin, GA and we were pleasantly surprised how good it was. Two of us had the meat lovers lasagna, one had a chicken dish and I had spaghetti with meatballs. The sauce was outstanding, the rolls were served fresh & hot and the salad was made with fresh ingredients. All for under $50. WIll stop again when returning to Georgia.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.