We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit Daily
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really great property and (with one exception) outstanding service. Who knew middle Georgia could be so beautiful? I spent two days and nights here for work function. Many people have mentioned there were lots of children over the summer, but with most schools in Georgia starting over the past couple of weeks, it was generally quiet with a handful of pre-schoolers.

Pros:
Outstanding setting on Lake Oconee; nice infinity pool and hammocks around the property
Beautiful finishes, decor, quality construction as one would expect at a Ritz
Comfortable beds, Frette linens, luxurious bathroom
For the most part, warm, friendly service
Spa looked lovely (however, pricey) but I did not indulge

Cons:

Hotel was difficult to navigate -- had to walk long distances through what felt like a maze
Rather dark interior in the public spaces
Food was good, not great (however, creme of onion soup was out of this world and the scallops entree at Gaby's was outstanding).
Fitness room was missing some key things like balance balls, floor mats, and TVs in front of the treadmills. Seems more geared to men in general.

The only bad:

Service poor on the luggage: left bags with bell captain upon arrival; checked in many hours later and was told bags would be delivered to room. An hour later, no bags. Called bell captain to nudge and was told they would get "right on it"; 30 minutes later, still no bags. I needed to change for dinner, so I went an retrieved them myself. Again was offered for them to be delivered, but I insisted on taking them myself and let them know I'd been waiting for 90 minutes. No apology provided? Wow.

Room Tip: Lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    106
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
125
188
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in August 2013 for a business convention. Very Quiet, peacefull and relaxing. Food was great, service great and accomidatioons top notch. I was with my wife and left the kids at home but next time we will take them with us as it seems like a great family resort. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice accommodations. Staff was friendly and tried to please.They tried to provide activities and the hotel was very family friendly. They had wonderful 4th of July firewords. For the location found it to be extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a great place to spend Father's Day! The staff are simply incredible. They make you feel at home the minute you arrive. Our room had just been renovated. The food, the staff and the restful atmosphere helped to bring a sense of serenity to our whole family. Thank you Ritz Carlton for your wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: Be nice and people will be nice to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Traveled here on business. Resort has excellent service and is absolutely beautiful! Only caveat, they need to invest in fly control. Ate 3 meals at Gaby's and when the food arrived, so did the swarm of flies. Also saw flies in meeting rooms, sleeping room bathroom and public bathrooms. Too upscale and beautiful a place to not have this nuisance controlled.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Georgia's Bistro

We had our anniversary dinner here and while it was not up to the standards of other Ritz Carlton restaurants. We started with the fried green tomatoes which were sliced so thin one could barely taste them for the batter and sauce. For the main course I had the trout that was overcooked and dry. The
topping had tiny dry crayfish and to many potatoes. My husband had a steak that was cooked to the proper temp. but not very flavorful however, the sauce was good.

Sauces can add flavor but sauces will not make up for mediocrity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

For years, we have been considering a visit to the Ritz on Lake Oconee but always decided against it. We live within a short drive of the resort.

This year, while looking for a last-minute trip close to home with the kids before school starts, we took the chance on this very pricey resort. We are glad we did. In random order, here are our thoughts.

The Good:

* Many things to keep you and the kids busy (motor boat rentals, canoes, kayaks, pools, lake swimming, fishing, playground, campfires with smores at night, biking, etc.).

* Rental boats are a highlight - the boats are clean, new and high quality. Watersports equipment and fuel are included in your rate. To be able to rent this high quality of a boat and not have to maintain it as your own, the rates are worth every penny.

* Helpful staff at every turn

* Clean, beautiful property

* Beds very comfortable; bathrooms spacious

The Minor Critiques

* We don't like the fact that this hotel is pet-friendly; I don't like the idea of sleeping in a room possibly used by a flea-infested dog.

* Drinks at the lounge, bar, restaurants, etc. are VERY expensive ($12-$16 each) and we found them to be watered-down and very lacking in alcohol volume - especially at the lobby lounge.

* Wifi is $10/day per device - RIP OFF! For the rates one pays at this place, Wifi should be free.

* Lunch fare at their lakeside casual restaurant, Gaby's, was good, but not great. I expect "great" from the Ritz.

Summary: The Ritz at Reynolds Plantation is a fun place, especially for families with children. Of course, you will pay Ritz prices and can easily find yourself nickel-and-dimed into serious money if you're not careful. For people like us who enjoy great value for high rates, just be aware of the critiques mentioned above. Overall, I recommend the Ritz Carlton at Reynolds Plantation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton Lodge offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.