We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Ritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit Daily
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Greensboro
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Renovated Ritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my second visit to the Ritz Lodge and the renovation is fantastic. The common areas are quite nice and the rooms have been redone in spectacular fashion. We had a standard double room but now the rooms have two queen beds instead of doubles which is nice if you are traveling with children. Bathrooms are quite large with a separate shower and tub. The pool area is awesome and the service there is great. Plenty of waiters to cater to your every whim including towel set up and poolside lunching. A big shout out to Travis, our waiter for two days, who took great care of us. There are lots of activities including fishing (you can catch them quickly) and the hotel provides the bait albeit at a $10 surcharge. Which brings me to my only negative remarks and the reason for the 4 star review instead of 5 stars.

First, when we called to rent bikes, we were told that there was a modest fee for the rental. When I asked how much, I was told $15 per hour. For a family of four, $60.00 is not exactly modest and after paying $400-$500 for a room with no real view, you would think that fishing, kayak and bike rentals would be included with the rate. They are in a majority of resorts. Still, we wanted to bike and were told that there would be an attendant there in 5 minutes. We arrived at the bike stand 3 minutes later and waited and waited and no one showed up. We inquired at the concierge desk and were told 5 more minutes. Again, nobody came to assist with the rental. Kids were bummed.

Also, I understand that when staying at a Ritz, you are going to break out the wallet. $16 for a margarita and $17 for a cheeseburger I expect but overall, I just felt nickle and dimed after dropping almost grand for two nights on the rate alone. $10 for internet that I did not use. Also, as other reviews have pointed out, charging $20.00 for valet parking is ludicrous given the fact that this property is in a rural area with plenty of parking. It's not like parking is at a premium out there in Greene County. $5.00 would be considerably more fair.

Overall, this is a fabulous property with a lot going for it. The renovation was superb and the staff is incredible. Service is top notch and the property is beautiful. Will still definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on a low floor allow immediate access to all of the outdoor activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    97
    39
    26
    13
See reviews for
110
172
9
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I took my family to the Ritz "Reynolds Plantation" for the 4th of July and what a great time. The weather was suppose to be a complete wash out so we decided since we had never been to go anyway. We are glad we did. The golf at "The National " and " Great Waters " was top notch. ( more to come) The food at Gabby's by the pool was great. You have to try the calamari . Travis , Gabriel and alex are great host. The Linger Longer steak house was great.
Understand that this is a Ritz on a lake but it is a Ritz in every sense. The prices are high , the place is beautiful and the service is top notch.
I was disappointed with the jet ski rentals. we rented a jet ski and the kids got poured on so came in after 20 minutes. The boys said come back after the rain and they would take care of them. The rain stopped and no boys to be found. bummer for us.
Great family atmosphere. they have alot to do for young children.
I would highly recommend Reynolds Plantation Ritz and the golf was GREAT!

Room Tip: pay for the lake view. great to sit on back balcony and have coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and had a private dinner at the lake went swimming at ten pm til midnight under the stars and a riding moon all while our beautiful room looked at the lake. We have been to many places before and never treated as well as here. Thank u Jan in concierge you made our trip.!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to vacation.
The wonderful views, great food, attentive staff. Everywhere we went, we were treated like we owned the place. The room was nice and clean. I will be returning again in future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was my second visit to this resort and both times it has exceeded my expectations. First visit was for a wedding and everything was perfect. The second time was for a girls getaway. Everyone went above and beyond to see to our every wish (even bringing in a specialty beer that we requested). The spa was great but what we enjoyed most was just laying my the pool and taking in the beautiful lake. We were on the club level and the food and drinks were yummy. Put this hotel on your bucket list, it's perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been going to the Ritz at Reynolds Plantation for many years and I recently went for a few days with my wife and daughter. The already outstanding service keeps getting better. The have updated the dining room and the food is fantastic.

The service is always wonderful. From housekeeping to the bell desk all the way to the GM, the staff is top notch. Great job

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

After our recent stay, my husband and I discarded any desire to own our own lake house. Why would we when the Ritz takes care of everything! We dropped our life jackets on the dock and they cleaned the boat. We pulled our yolo board up to the dock, and they dragged it out of the water. They built the fire and had fresh marshmallows for s'mores. They maintained the beautifully landscaped grounds! They even provided a dog in the lobby for our kids to pet. All we did was relax.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The spa is beautiful. The location is very relaxing.

The place is comfortable without being opulent or stuffy. We stayed in a cottage, which we loved. Please note, it was a tad worn. It could use a freshen up. If you are expecting a super comfortable lodge with great service, you will be pleased. If you are looking for over the top luxury, perhaps you might be disappointed. We loved it so much, we are returning next weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton Lodge offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.