We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous lake front resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit Daily
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Greensboro
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lake front resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went for just a few days, but had a stellar time. It was the first warm weekend this spring so we spent every minute we could outside. Sitting by the heated infinity pool, looking out over the lake and smelling the warm pines is one of my new favorite memories. The hotel looks like an old hunting lodge and has been recently updated/refurbished and is simply gorgeous. It was also fantastic that we could bring our dog with us. They gave us a ground floor room, for ease of taking the pup outside and everyone was just so warm and friendly when they met our dog. He even made friends with the hotel mascot/greeter, Dooley (a lab mix), that lounges in the lobby. The food was fantastic, especially at The Linger Longer Steak House!! I can't recommend this property highly enough. It was an incredible stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    97
    40
    26
    13
See reviews for
114
174
9
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When you walk into the lobby of the lodge you see the AAA 5 diamond plaque on the wall. And you wonder can this place live up to what 5 diamond means. And the Ritz certainly does in ever facet of service. I do not ever take the time to write up a place unless it is exceptional and i think others can benefit.

I didn't expect to much before i went to Reynolds Plantation, but the service from the time you walk in to the time you leave is consistent, warm and sincere. I never heard the word no not even once. They staff did everything they could to make your experience one which you would want to experience again.

First of all, the beds. The beds were some of the most comfortable that i have ever slept in. The hotel front door bell staff made you feel so welcomed and took care of everything you needed promptly. As well as house keeping.

We ate at the Linger Longer Steak House. Our server Matt took care of your every need before you even mentioned it. It was my birthday and everyone made sure you knew they knew. We received a bottle of Rosa Regalia dessert wine on the house with the black forest cake dessert. Things they didn't have to do, but again its the little things that make the service exceptional. Food was also very well prepared. Had the bone in NY Strip cooked perfect the first time.

If you go to the spa and really need a strong deep tissue sports massage ask your Rebecca. She knows how to locate and unlock your knots. It was a wonderful massage after golf.

As far as golf is concerned, we placed the Great Waters, and the Oconee Course. Great waters is a great course that is laid out with the land wonderfully. However, its a 15 minute car ride from the lodge and the greens and course are not maintained as they should.

The Oconee course is in much better shape. Greens are perfect and it is right next to the lodge. If both courses were in the same tip top shape i think i would like the Great Waters Course. But the location of the Oconee Course coupled with their perfect greens make it the better choice.

All in all, it was all about the service that earned this place a 5 diamond, and the Ritz really delivers in a very elegant and sincere way. Makes you want to come back.

Room Tip: any even number room will have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was a perfect choice for a weekend getaway. The service was wonderful and welcoming.
The room 418 was just renovated with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake. Asprey amenities and comfortable beds were great.
Drinks in the Lobby Lounge and Gabys were in order before dinner at the Linger Longer!
Cozy and warm fireplaces were perfect to chase the rainy chill.
Common areas were great and the Spa lovely. The mandatory service charge for the spa was a bit high.
Worth the trip from Atlanta.

Room Tip: Choose room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this property in March on our way back to Tennessee from Florida. The property is in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. The lobby area is beautiful, minus one conspicuous thing. There are huge T.V.'s everywhere. You can't sit anywhere without having to stare at ESPN. The same thing goes for all the restaurants. I felt like I was at a Hooter's not the Ritz. I don't feel the need to watch a game while dropping $200. on dinner. The rooms were just your average room you would expect to get at a Marriott. Our sheet's had a couple of quarter sized rips in them. The other troublesome thing was the outdoor fire pit. It is located right up by the rooms. We wanted to sit on the balcony and drink some wine before dinner, but there was a steady stream of smoke on our patio. It needs to be moved down by the lake. The hotel is in the middle of a major renovation, however I think the T.V.'s were a part of that. The last thing that bothered me was the bellman service upon leaving. We called down and the guy showed up promptly, however when we got to the drive two other guy's started helping and then stood around like we needed to tip three times. I prefer one person assist us from pick up to loading.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved this Ritz- I hate stuffy and pretentious, and this was anything but. Located in a remote area, the service was as always impeccable, with a beautiful lake view, a bubble bath drawn for us, we went on Valentine's Day and had a horse carriage ride to the restaurant, it was the best experience. It was completely taken care of from beginning to end, service standards were impeccable, but the location rendered it non pretentious and a great place to sit in the lodge and have a drink, etc. I would highly recommend, even if you have a preconception of the Ritz Carlton as an "out of your realm" type of experience- I liked the rustic grandeur of this one, and would definitely go back. Greatly enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights R&R with my wife. It is a beautiful property with both options to stay in the main lodge or cottages adjacent to the lodge. The service was impeccable upon arrival. The staff was top notch and handled every request flawlessly. Our room was a standard 1 BR king room. Everything worked perfectly in the room and we had a great view of the lake and the pool from our balcony. We ate at Gaby's for lunch and the food was very good. There are some dining options nearby if you don't want to pay the higher prices at the Lodge's restaurants. We took advantage of the walking trail that winds through the woods, by the cottages and also by the beautiful golf courses. I played the Oconee course while there and it was in perfect condition. There is also a Taylormade fitting facility called 'The Kingdom' onsite that many professional tour players use to fine tune their swings and tweak their equipment. Overall, I was very impressed with this Ritz Carlton. It definitely does not fit the cookie cutter mold that some Ritz Carltons seem to have, with the proximity to the lake activities and several choices for golf. I will definitely come back for some future R&R, perhaps with the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful setting overlooking Lake Oconee .....Hotel is "Rustic Elegance" of true Ritz Carlton style and service .....Property is under new ownership and is being renovated to continued high quality standards .....Even while renovation was in progress no one suffered any dilution of the Famous Ritz Carlton high quality of service that made me feel very welcome and comfortable .....I stayed in a newly renovated section of the hotel and was quite impressed with all the amenities .....Lobby and Lobby Bar are some of my favorite hang outs to meet and greet friends and have an enjoyable evening by the rock fireplace and lovely views of the lake .....The golf club dining is superior and very comfortable ....All of the staff under the direction of GM Ralph Vick did a wonderful job making my visit extremely pleasant and I look forward to the opportunity to go back as soon as I can .....Fitness center is great along with the fabulous indoor pool and Spa.......By the way , The Hotel Dog named Dooley is a beautiful rescued chocolate lab that you definitely need to stop by and pet .....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation

Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton Lodge offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.