We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem right off the Interstate - a very happy accident and worth the stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yesterday Cafe

The Yesterday Cafe
114 North Main Street, Greensboro, GA 30642
706-453-0800
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: American
Description: Great southern home cooking- Southern Living named their buttermilk pie best in Georgia.
Restaurant details
Description: Great southern home cooking- Southern Living named their buttermilk pie best in Georgia.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gem right off the Interstate - a very happy accident and worth the stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A few miles off the Interstate, on our way from Atlanta to Augusta, we happened on this gem. Looking for a dinner break, we saw a place with a bunch of cars out front, right downtown and across from City Hall. Yesterday Café is located in an old storefront with lots of very cool local photos, VERY tastefully presented around the room.

We were welcomed by a charming hostess, seated right away on a busy Friday night, and found a bit of heaven and genuine Southern cooking, hospitality and charm. Don't miss the buttermilk pie. (Save room) Having grown up with southern cooking, I felt right at home and dug in with gusto. My west coast raised husband is a new fan of down-home too. Full-service bar and great wait staff. The place filled up quickly with locals, always a good sign. Worth the trip; worth the time - about four miles off the highway and we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An upscale restaurant in an otherwise down home sort of little town. Excellent food and service. We would definitely choose this restaurant if we are ever in Greensboro again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a little lukewarm!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

food was not not served hot, was a little dissapointed, did not not revisit .I thought the food may have been rewarmed and not cooked on order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came here since there were so many good reviews, and it seemed like "THE" thing to do in Greensboro. Even though we were here in off-tourist season, it was packed! I got a turkey sandwich (okay), and my husband got the Blue Plate Special- fried country steak. It came with a lot of sides, but he said the food was just okay-nothing special. Service was acceptable- they were busy and they did their best to manage. We also got a piece of the famous buttermilk pie. We both hated it (and my husband usually eats anything)- it was really sweet and didn't have a taste. We felt pretty "meh" about this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the entire experience. Small town cozy restaurant with a very nice hometown bar... Food was prepared "southern comfort" style and especially LOVED the fried pickles. Excellent price for the amount and quality of food received. Would recommend this place and intend to return on our next trip to area...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yesterday Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Yesterday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yesterday Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.