We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw on a Food Network Show and had to give it a try, well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longstreet Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Longstreet Cafe
1043 Riverside Ter, Gainesville, GA 30501-1733
770-287-0820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 199 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Calhoun, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Saw on a Food Network Show and had to give it a try, well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Saw this restaurant advertised on a Food Network Show and had to try it last time I was in Gainesville. It is a fairly small cafeteria style place with small seating area. It was not busy initially but before leaving the lunch time hr., the place was soon packed. 1 Meat and 3 vegetables plus a Sweet Tea was around $10.00. Not really a cheap lunch, but everything tasted home made. My personal selections were Country Fried Steak, mashed potatoes, lima beans, squash casserole and macaroni and cheese. It lives up to it's reputation for Comfort Food. The fried chicken looked very good as well. I might not go there frequently due to the cost; but I don't think you will ever be disappointed in the food selection or flavor

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    22
    18
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Typical Southern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I cook southern food at home all the time so it probably takes a lot to impress me when it comes to southern food. Longstreet Cafe is very popular in the area so they certainly have good food but I feel it's too pricey. They serve all your typical southern dishes, fried chicken, chicken tenders, baked chicken, veggies, biscuits, etc. They also serve breakfast and it's good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flowery branch, ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing more than”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nothing more than average. Same old country fare. I like country food and there are others I really enjoy but this one is nothing special. We went to the small version the last time and that will be the last time I go there. Very Boring

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Makes me sad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Honestly seeing how packed this place always is and all these 5 star reviews makes me sad. Have southerners taste buds gotten so bad that you think this is good food. First of all it is overpriced. It is at a minimum $11 a person to eat lunch at Longstreet. For dry food that has been sitting under heat lamps all day I think half that would be about right.

They always run out of food and don't make more, the line runs out the door all the time, and I really don't think the people that work there know how much it cost either because it is always something different even of you order the same thing every time.

I have been here a lot because my wives family loves it so I get stuck eating this really average at best food while they go on and on about how good it is all the time. It's like punishment to me eating here.

And lastly why would you eat in a place that has a picture of the first Grand Wizard of the KKK right when you walk in the front door? No thanks.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was there with a business associate for Breakfast. There is always a great verity of foods on the buffet bar - Fresh fruit through all the usual breakfast stuff, and many items you will be surprised by. Food is fresh and well prepared - Not much really else to say. I always try to get by there at least once when I am in Gainesville, GA. on business. All the locals know Longstreet Cafe is the place to get good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longstreet Cafe also viewed

Gainesville, GA
Gainesville, GA
 

Been to Longstreet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longstreet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.