We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, great service, reasonable prices, okay portions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver bay seafood restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver bay seafood restaurant
Browns Bridge Road, Gainesville, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 204 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, great service, reasonable prices, okay portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was good but I thought for a place like this portion sizes could have been larger. The prices and selection were very good. Great alternative to Red Lobster and other chains. Still not the best seafood joint around town but still does the job for being a seafood restaurant nowhere near the beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home run first try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a coupon so we gave it a try and from the time they greeted us at the door till we left so friendly and nice. Food was so good! As Arnold says " I'll be back!"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
“Great place to et”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have been several times and every time we have not been disappointed. The food and service is always great. The staff is always friendly and wanting to make you very welcome. We have never had to wait for service. I would recommend this restaurant as one of the best I've had. and It's not terribly expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant- good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Silver Bay restaurant is in what used to be a Ryan's Steakhouse in Gainesville, GA. I thought this might be another buffet type restaurant so I had not yet tried Silver Bay although it has been open for a few months. I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant appears to be very clean, servers attentive and prompt, has two extra rooms that can be reserved for parties plus the main room. They have a pretty good selection of foods on the menu (can be found online) and they have specials at lunch, during the week and on the weekends....with better specials from Tues. thru Thursday. Prices are very reasonable. They are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Silver Bay has four restauants in S. Carolina, this is the first and only one in Georgia. I have been here twice both times the food was excellent, the servers were very friendly and attentive. The seafood was well prepared and you get lots of it at a very reasonable price. The menu is huge, just about everything that comes out of the water is on it including fried frog legs. They also have steaks and chicken on the menu, but I'm not able to say how good they are or not. Silver Bay reminds me of a seafood place you might find on the beach somewhere. It's not a fancy place, more of a roll your sleves up and dig in kind of place. I'm not the only person that likes it here each time I've been here the place was packed. Their lunch specials at $6.95 are really good. Thei coffee was hot and fresh which is really important to me. When you're seated the server brings all you want of finger size hushpuppies. I very much like this place and would recommend it to anyone who likes seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver bay seafood restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Silver bay seafood restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver bay seafood restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.