We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice People BUT Smoke Filled Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Queen City Pkwy, Gainesville, GA 30501 (Formerly Days Inn Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save $$$
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gainesville
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice People BUT Smoke Filled Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I visited Gainesville, GA for a Marriage conference on 2/23/2012 to 2/26/2012 and chose this hotel because the reviews seemed good. With great hopes after reading many of the reviews, we were very disappointed. When we got there the desk person was VERY NICE and welcoming-however, the ROOM was HORRIBLE. It smelled of SMOKE our entire weekend. We called to get new blankets and have things changed out (which they did) but the smoke MUST have been in the carpet and walls because I would not leave. We did not check out because the hotels in the area were sold out due to the conference so we were STUCK in this room and SMELLING like SMOKE all weekend long. WHen we got home- everything reaked of smoke... I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest, The reservation for your room came directly from third party booking engine as a smoking queen handicap room. Upon your request we were able to move the reservation to a smoking king room and there may have been error in communication. However, we were also sold out the night of the 02/24/2012 and that could not have moved the room to a non-smoking.

We would encourage you to make the reservation ahead of time since your reservation was made on the 02/21/2012 for a very busy weekend. If you are coming to Gainesville, GA in 2013 for the same event please call us directly and we will be more than happy to put you in non-smoking room and show you a true representation of our Non-Smoking Rooms. Also we will like to extend a discount of 50% on your next stay to change your experience.

We will look forward to hearing back from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
8
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here a while back when this property was a Days Inn and because everything was sold out I could not stay at the IHG product where I collect points but I must confess this time I was pleasantly surprised!

Pillow top mattresses were a plus and the breakfast had Oatmeal and Yogurt which are decent healthy choices. I would recommend this place and probably stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms by the lobby are very nice and excellent connectivity to the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. In the last 2 years most of our bedding packages have been upgraded and we are glad that you had a wonderful experience because of our efforts. Reviews help us improve and target the areas that most enhance the customer experience.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Check in was slow but friendly. We didn't mind sincee they were very busy. Our room was adequate albeit very dated, worn, and in need of a good renovation. It looked clean at first but later we found dead bugs on the floor (large moths), hairs all over our sheets and a lot of "nook and cranny" built up scum and dirt. The room could use a deep cleaning. I'm not sure why this hotel has such a high rating. Our toilet constantly ran and took three flushes to work after using it. Ultimately the sheets were changed and toilet fixed, however, i find a dirty and unmaintained room unacceptable. We will not return here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I am sorry to hear that the guest was displeased with our rooms. Most of our rooms i.e. 75 rooms out of 98 have been renovated and due to logistics the remainder of the rooms will be upgraded by end of March 2012.

We will like to extend an offer to the guest at 50% of our Daily Rate to come and try us again and see if we can change their mind about our property.

Our people are nice because they believe in the rooms they are putting the guests in and is a reflection of the property and we will like to change your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed at the motel for two weeks in January of 2012 following surgery. It was a clean room and quiet other than an occasional booming from cars going thru the drive-thru at McDonalds. The rate for a week was $179 plus taxes, which is a good rate for long-term motels in Gainesville. The manager said that rate isn't available during busy periods (rowing competitions, etc.). The wi-fi worked great most of the time but did have a couple days when it didn't work so well. I don't understand why motels have such a hard time providing competent wi-fi to all rooms. It happens even at the nice places.

Room Tip: You might hear noise from the McDonalds drive-thru at night. BOOM BOOM from car stereos. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank Your for your review! Hospital in Gainesville provides us with a lot of business, we take extra measures in making sure that any guest from the Hospital gets a downstairs room that is convenient to the lobby and access to their car!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are older but still very nice and big. The staff is amazing. They are beyond friendly, nice, and super helpful. The prices are extremely reasonable. It is a great location, seconds from Downtown. They also allow dogs which is very helpful when traveling. Each room has a mini fridge and microwave which comes in handy. If you are going to need an extended stay hotel, this hotel, since it does not have an on site work out area, has a gym memebership to REALLY nice gym right down the road that you can check out the key to. Great idea!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling in the Gainesville, GA area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We will like to thank you for providing us with a great review! Our goal is to provide every customer with an experience like yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

When traveling to Gainesville, GA with pets, the Guesthouse Inn is your best bet.
Older hotel with no frills, just clean and convenient.
Jason at the desk sure makes you feel right at home. He is one of the best front desk workers I have ever come across, even compared to 5 Star rated hotels.
They have a small light breakfast that is good. The waffle mix for the waffle machine was excellent, tasted better than IHOP or Waffle House.
Made my reservation on-line and there were no surprises checking in or out so reserve with confidence.
Will stay here again when traveling with my dog.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel rooms were very nice. The A/C worked great, the water pressure was great, and most importantly the staff was very hospitable! Could see why this hotel is rated #1 in Gainesville. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites

Address: 520 Queen City Pkwy, Gainesville, GA 30501 (Formerly Days Inn Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This GuestHouse Inn and Suites property is conveniently located close to all Gainesville, GA attractions including the Lake Lanier Rowing Club, Road Atlanta and Chicopee Agricultural Center. We provide friendly, Southern hospitality and charm that is unique to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hotel Gainesville
Guesthouse Inn And Suites
Days Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.