We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in Folkston” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Motel

Western Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Western Motel to your Saves list
Western Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3340 Second St South, Folkston, GA 31537   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Folkston
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best place in Folkston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you want to stay in Folkston, then the western is the best for the price. The place is just a little run down and it stinks but its clean and the owner is very very friendly. We stayed because its just a short drive to the Okefenokee swamp. For the price this guy charges for a room, its a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Past two decades of enjoying the glamour of business travel, I've seen a lot of bright lights, big cities, and business hotels. On a value per dollar basis, the Western Motel is easily tops,room was very clean and comfortable, the beds were also beyond "motel quality." Cleans sheets, comfortable pillows, . Great all around, aside from the friendly and hospitable atmosphere & their personal attention on the morning of our departure they made us little snacks and offered Misala Tea can never forget the taste,its certainly admirable and certainly owned us over.. :) The property is also well-maintained.I hate to share such a secret, but in all honesty they deserve even more business. It's a comfortable stay for me, and I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We booked 6 rooms at this motel the week of May 10th to May 17th and we very pleased with our stay. The staff members were all very hospitable & gracious. Our stay was peaceful & they had new mattress delivered during our stay which made it all the better.
After visiting with a number of the locals we learned the other two hotels in town were horrible. One had a fire in their laundry last year and to this day the owner removes hairs from the used sheets and only occasionally washes them in one of the bathtubs. The third hotel is said to have a good bit of drug activity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Motel was clean, that's nice, been all over, Nita and Pat (the owners) are very nice people and the housekeeper, Alice, is really GREAT at her job. A laid back kind of place, no noise which made resting a very pleasant experience! Pat, Nita and Alice are great people and cared about making our stay very comfortable (which it was). Consider them our friends. Will definitely stay here again and will refer others to stay here, too. THANKS Nita, Pat and Alice for making our stay enjoyable. :)

The Sheffields

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

me and my husband have been staying here for years very nice motel great owners very clean rooms nice swimming pool security no problems what so ever i highly reccommend western motel folkston georgia

Room Tip: any room is excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This motel provides fine basic accommodation. It was clean, well lit, spacious. quiet enough,had comfortable beds, and everything worked as it was supposed to. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a good place to stop prior to going to the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. We awoke well rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury,N.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Folkston to do some train watching and visit the Okefenokee swamp. Check in went smooth and the owner was very nice and helpful. The motel needs some repairs and updates but it did what we wanted which was sleep. There were no bugs and the overall experience was ok. We thought it was a little pricey and the taxes were very high.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Address: 3340 Second St South, Folkston, GA 31537
Location: United States > Georgia > Folkston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Folkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.