We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montaperti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montaperti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montaperti Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   strada comunale di Poggio al Vento | SOLO per GPS: via Guelfi 3 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, 53041 Casanova Pansarine, Asciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Friendly staff but horrible hotel

We stay here for one night in a double standard room on our way through Siena and I glad it wasn’t longer.

When we arrived we were welcomed by some extremely helpful and friendly staff. They assisted us with our luggage and told us where we could go to get a good meal.

The room and facilities let this hotel down. The first thing we noticed as we entered the room was that the carpet was not fitted properly, square could be lifted right off the floor and it was extremely stained. The room itself was dirty with marks on the walls and stains on the bench that the TV sat on. The TV didn’t work when we arrived, we need to play with the cables to get it to work. The internet was an issue too as it kept dropping out.

The bed was hard, with one pillow for 2 people. When we called reception for extra pillows they gave us one extra. There were also no extra blanket which we needed as the room was cold and we couldn’t control and temperature.

The bathroom was pretty basic. There was only a hand held shower and no shower curtain making it impossible not to put water all over the bathroom

Breakfast was average. The hot food was sickly and there was not much variety.

A very disappointing stay and won’t go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    370
    133
    49
    18
See reviews for
116
402
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We really loved our stay at the Montaperti Hotel. We were with our daughters and were pleased to stay in the hotel 8 nights touring Tuscana. The staff were very patient and helpful with all our needs. We especially appreciated the free Wi-Fi. The breakfasts were wonderful in a bright and cheerful restaurant. We especially enjoyed all the fruit,eggs,cheeses and juices. Excellent for disabled.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Rather difficult to find, the address confused my GPS. After asking we were directed to the hotel, which is in a rural location well outside of Siena, but near major roads. The hotel was good for a stop-over on our way through Tuscany. Would be a good base in the area if you have a car. Breakfast was a highlight of staying here - excellent. As it was summer and rather hot, the air conditioning would not cool our room to our liking, but I am used to keeping a room cooler than most hoteliers would want to allow. This was our only complaint, and it was minor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

After a hot day in Siena we were overjoyed to land here. Large apart net, with cooker, modern air con system and lighting. Place has a pool and is keen to sell itself as a resort. This is the hotel I would pick if I wanted to stay in one hotel in central Italy for several days and use as a base to visit Siena, Florence and Tuscany. The pool is nice, but can get a little noisy, the wifi is not really possible in the room so you have to go to reception, so that is perhaps the area they could sort out next. The apart,ent has a cooker, sink and fridge so if you can find a nearby supermarket or stop off in Sienna to get some groceries that would be advisable although they do have a rooftop restaurant which looked really good if a little pricey for a family.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent a week here and have enjoyed every minute of it.
Super friendly and helpful staff, both in Italian and in English.
Panoramic views a plenty, since it's located very calm and nicely outside of Sienna.
Big breakfast buffet, with an extra positive note going towards the automatic toaster (put your bread in it, and go get the rest of your food, it travels trough the grill and will be waiting for you to come and pick it up) and the tons of fresh oranges to make your own orange juice!
Big lobby, perfect to relax or chat and drink something, without becoming too big.
There is a spa-area, but this is rather limited. When we spotted a cockroach the second day we ended up not feeling much for it. The pool was very nice and cool, big and lit up in the evening. Perfect for a cool-down splash.
The room itself was top notch, the only thing missing was more power plugs. But this seems to be a recurring theme in hotels anyway :-)
The location of the hotel outside Sienna is perfect for trips (by car) to Firenze, the Chianti region, and Sienna itself of course.
Albeit we had an amazing time and would certainly return here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I Loved everything at Montaperti. The hotelroom, the staff,the food and everything. The best hotel I ever been to. Look forward to come back.

Room Tip: Corner, large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslev, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just stayed another 7 nights at Montaperti Hotel (we also stayed there for a week last summer). Both weeks were totally in the top. The first year we stayed in a superior room and this year in a familyroom/apartment. They both fully lived up to our wishes.
We like the surroundings very much; its quiet and still nearby allmost everything in Toscany, when you have a car.
But must of all we like the staff very much. The once we were in contact with were all very friendly and helpful. They make you fell welcome and at home. We would very much like to visit Montaperti Hotel again -hopefully next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontapertiHotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montaperti Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
- MONTAPERTI HOTEL: IT'S A MATTER OF "CLICK" -

Dear Anette,

what else can I say besides THANKS, THANKS, THANKS!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Montaperti Hotel two years in a row: you experienced the superior room, then the junior apartment . . . next year you might try our junior suite, with a nice, romantic balcony overlooking the Chianti landscape and the Siena skyline!

Thank you for such a great review: I’ve passed on to our Crew your words and we are really flattered about them!

And last but not least, thank you indeed for the wonderful letter you wrote me: it really moved me and it’s definitely the greatest reward I could have ever asked for!

It’s been a pleasure to welcome you back here at Montaperti once again: it was a great fun hearing about your “adventures” wondering around our Toscana and about all your shopping . . . don’t forget that I’m still waiting for a picture of Frank on his new italian bike :-)

I really hope to have the chance to see you again next year and please, feel free to contact me anytime for any reason: I’ll do my best to help you organizing another interesting holiday in Italy!

A huge huge hug!
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montaperti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montaperti Hotel

Address: strada comunale di Poggio al Vento | SOLO per GPS: via Guelfi 3 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, 53041 Casanova Pansarine, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano > Casanova Pansarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Casanova Pansarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montaperti Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Montaperti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaperti Hotel Casetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montaperti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.