We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lely Hills Hotel and Casino

Lely Hills Hotel and Casino
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lelydorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lely Hills Hotel and Casino
Save
You added Lely Hills Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Sastrodisoemoweg # 2-4, Lelydorp 1000, Suriname   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lelydorp
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Lely Hills Hotel is between the airport and Paramaribo (about 45 min by car); it's clean with spacious rooms, good beds, hot water. The gardens are beautiful including a huge, nice pool. During the day I had the pool completely to myself, in the afternoon/evenings children came over to play and jump in from the edge of the pool...
One of the reasons for booking this hotel was that they told me that they provided airport transfers. Two days before I left for South America they wrote me an e-mail that it would be better for me to arrange the transfers from and to the aiport myself, as they didn't want to wait in case my flight was late... However, they did provide me with a tip where to look for a transfer company. Still...
That being said there are a lot of good sides to the hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious, there is a nice terrace in front of the rooms, and you can have all your yummy meals there or simply watch the short tropical rain showers. There are two guys at the reception (one in the mornings, one in the afternoons/evenings) who go to great lengths to make your stay great. Whether you need special diet requirements, a taxi, money exchange (in the adjoining casino, no problem at all), there is nothing they won't be able to provide you with and they are always very friendly. I arrived at 4 in the afternoon after two days of travelling to Suriname and I was starving. I asked for food, although I knew it was an odd time for the kitchen... It took half an hour and I had a full meal and a beer in front of me - perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I didn't like my stay at this hotel as much as most previous reviewers. First of all, I made a reservation directly at hotel's website, a confirmation page appeared, but I never got a confirmation e-mail. When I arrived at hotel, it was completely booked, and nobody knew anything about my reservation. I had no choice but to move further to Paramaribo (this hotel is located in suburb called Lelydorp, half-way from airport to Paramaribo).
Few days later I managed to get a room. The price was very good, but that is probably the only good thing to say about hotel. Overall appearance was pretty worn and torn, rooms were outdated, there were problems with plumbing and lighting. No curtain in the bath for taking shower. Swimming pool was particularly very old with a beaten hole somewhere in the middle of it and dirty, non-transparent water and almost no sunbeds around. For the price I paid it was tolerable place to spend few nights, but nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lelydorp hotels

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A quick first visit here and I was very impressed at the standard and the price - its not that expensive and in a great location. Its like being in the middle of the jungle and very different experience to the usual city hotel. Paramaribo is an interesting city and has very vibrant feel, look forward to returning again

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Loved the hotel, because you feel that you are in the amazon. I miss it, and can't wait to return there. The food was incredible as well. Great place for a romantic getaway. Two tumbs up for sure.

Room Tip: The senior suites have everything when with a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

I felt that i was indeed in the amazon rainforest when i stayed there. You wake up with birds whistle. And i loved my stay there. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lely Hills Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lely Hills Hotel and Casino

Address: Sastrodisoemoweg # 2-4, Lelydorp 1000, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Wanica District > Lelydorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lelydorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel rooms at the Lelie Hills Hotel and Casino. With full accommodations, luxury suites, with living room and full kitchen, laundry service, casino and restaurant. Hotel Features. The retro-styled Lelie Hills Hotel greets visitors with beautiful trees and white sand, and gives a complete feel of relaxation and tropical rainforest. The property's lounge features exotic Surinamese cuisine, while the poolside bar offers a light fare menu. Business perks include an Internet kiosk with high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lely Hills Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.