We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Course, quiet (but nice) lake resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake

Save Saved
You added Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake
126 Cuscowilla Drive, Eatonton, GA 31024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Eatonton
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice Course, quiet (but nice) lake resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Recently stayed at Cuscowilla resort. Overall experience was decent with a few bumps in the road.

First the positives. The course is a nice, rustic offering. Challenging to all players. They were very busy and handled the traffic well. Also, Waterside restaurant was very nice. Very scenic, good menu. Nice place with music on the weekends. Above average for a lake resort restaurant. Clubhouse also has good food offering.

Negatives were we had a significant delay in our room being ready. Seems they may be understaffed and when busy puts a bit of pressure on the system. If room availability time is important I suggest handling that when you make your reservation. Service was a bit slow at times in all areas - beverage cart on course, restaurants, etc,

Overall a pretty good lake resort that is not too expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the lake. views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited Cuscowilla in early March. Resort is situated within a residential golf community, and room options are one bedroom villas, up to upscale cabins or lodges with several bedrooms and full kitchens. I stayed in a villa room, which was spacious and clean. Bathroom was also large with walk-in shower. Nice walk out balcony with views of golf course (some rooms overlook lake also). The only thing I didnt like about my room was that the transom windows did not have shades and the morning sun shone brightly into the room as it was rising, making it impossible to sleep past sunrise. Pool area looked nice but it was too cold to enjoy. I stayed here for work and some of our meals were catered through the resort, food was ok but nothing spectacular (though this may have been due to the menus chosen by the meeting organizer). There is a resort restaurant on site but was not open when we were there. I would recommend the Bone Island Grill located nearby ... great food and good prices. I probably wont return to Cuscowilla for a personal trip, just because I dont golf or fish and not much else to do. But it was a nice alternative for a work meeting.

Room Tip: No elevators and stairs to second floor villas are wide and steep. If you have kids, seniors, or hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a warm, charming and peaceful golf community. We stay 10 days at a Lake Villa called the Maple. It's earthy tones and large windows overlooking the lake are restorative. What a beautiful sunrise. The golf course is a lot of fun with each hole having a challenging situation. The pro shop has a very nice selection for men and women and ordered in some things that I specifically wanted. We have eaten twice at the Waterside Restaurant. The food is outstanding and probably the best in the area.

Room Tip: The Maple Lake Villa has a lovely unobstructed view of the lake. You can also walk easily to the Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a beautiful golf resort with villas, houses, and other housing spread over many acres around the golf course and the lake. We had a beautiful and spacious room overlooking the lake. It had a large bathroom and a kitchenette, which would be great if you planned to stay several days. A large golf tournament was going on while we were there, so the main dining room was closed for that event. The hotel made dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant, but we were sorry we didn't get to try to resort restaurant. We did look at it, and it is very nice, and the staff was very friendly. We had breakfast at the grill, and it was excellent. We enjoyed this visit to a location we'd never heard of!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have never stayed at Cuscowilla. Did notice sign and we went in and took a tour. Lovely place. Very subtle luxury. Sales staff was professional. No hard closings. Next day we went to Augusta National for Master's Tourney. Cuscowilla didn't seem so remarkable after that. But none can compare to Masters. We are planning return to Master's and will stay several days at Cuscowilla before and after and play a little cow pasture pool. Will be like Heaven compared to awful Wingate in nearby Madison, GA. From what we saw this place looks top shelf. And lots of good restaurants and shopping nearby. No mall crap. Just fun curious places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

quiet, peaceful on a lake. beautiful walkable golf course. The staff are trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Waterside Restaurant has to be the best in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lake Villa (The Maple). Very spacious with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband visited cuscowilla with our three year old daughter for a weekend meeting. We did not play golf at all but found the resort so nice that we would love to go back. The villa we stayed in was so nice with a kitchen - great to have when traveling with a kid! The meeting facilities were nice as well. We rented a boat and had a great time on the lake one day. The boat can be rented right on the property at the clubhouse that has activities for kids. The food was good in the grill as was the meeting breakfast. There are some good restaurants nearby as well. We enjoyed the weekend. My husband and I would love to go back for a weekend to ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake

Also Known As:
Cuscowilla Golf Resort On Lake Hotel Eatonton
Cuscowilla Golf Resort On Lake Hotel
Address: 126 Cuscowilla Drive, Eatonton, GA 31024
Location: United States > Georgia > Eatonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Eatonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of Georgia's lake country, just 70 miles east of Atlanta on beautiful Lake Oconee, Cuscowilla Golf Resort offers award winning golf, fine dining, luxury accommodations and all the amenities you need to create incredible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuscowilla Golf Resort on Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.