We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chained Oak Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chained Oak Farm
Save
You added Chained Oak Farm to your Saves list
Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Farley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked a twin room for 2 nights during Alton Towers Scarefest. Liz was a great host, very friendly & helpful. Our room was gorgeous! Great beds, nice & warm & cosy just what we needed after a long journey travelling on the first night & great to relax in on the 2nd night after a very busy day at the park! Great bathroom too..lovely power shower! The setting is beautiful & only a 10 min walk to the park, through the field & over the road & you are there. Breakfast was also fantastic & a good selection was offered! Great value for money, would return here again 100%, I wouldn't waste my money at the overpriced Alton towers hotel when this is just on the doorstep & much more homely & welcoming!
Would also recommend the bulls head pub down the road for food, had lovely meals & puddings, great service & price!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here last nite 25-10-2013 really happy with everything. More importantly after being stranded do to car trouble the lady kindly ran me too the local pub/restaurant to grab some food an picked me up too! Also for how good this place is, when u leave you do feel that you should of paid more. Would recommend this to anyone, an I personally won't be going back to alton towers without staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second time that my partner and I have stayed at Chained Oak Farm. This year, after deciding that we would do Alton Towers for my birthday, we had no hesitation in where to stay again! From the warm welcome you receive from Liz or Steve when you first arrive, to the cosy converted stable block rooms and the amazing freshly cooked breakfast the following morning, everything about this place is perfect! I wont repeat what many others have also said on here, however what I will say is ALWAYS try and stay here first before even looking at the Alton Towers hotels or other B and B's in the area. But hurry, I can be sure you will need to be quick as there will be many other very happy previous guests already booking to come back.
Highly recommend the Bulls Head in Alton to eat in the evening. 2 minute drive or 15 minute walk. Would advise booking as is clearly very popular and does get very busy.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 2 nights spending a day at Alton Towers. It is a 10 min walk from the theme park and no waiting in the monorail queue or paying for parking. Liz is very welcoming and there is everything you need. We had our evening meals in the Black Bull Inn in Alton, a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a long and stressful start to the year, me and my girlfriend had looked forward to a short break. We chose to visit Alton Towers as we hadn't in a while. We wanted a B+B close to the park so that we could walk to it. We were not disappointed!
The Chained Oak is perfect. The rooms are situated in a stable block out building. The room had every necessary mod con with a rustic charm to boot. Upon arrival we were able to leave our car, check in after a day in the park and leave the car the following day after checking out for day two in the park saving over £20 in car parking fees. Perfect! The Park is a 10 minute walk along the road which takes you straight to the turnstiles.
We went to The Bulls Head in nearby Alton for an evening meal upon recommendation from our host which was lovely also.
The only thing to remember is there is a little window in the door which could easily be peeked through had I not hung a hoodie over the door!
Nevertheless this is a little gem of a B+B. When we next endeavour to Alton Towers we will most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ideally located , less than 10 minutes walk to the ticket booths at Alton Towers thIs really is an excellent b&b. From the warm welcome to the wonderful view over farmland from the oak framed breakfast room it's hard to find fault with anything. The rooms are well appointed with large en-suite and one of the best showers we've had anywhere. Breakfast was excellent too and we were able to leave the car there for the day before and after our one night stay. By the way, Early October seems an ideal time to visit Alton Towers - so quiet we were able to walk straight on to al of the big rides (front row) without queuing. Would recommend this b&b to anyone.
If you don't want to take advantage of the host's hospitality and order a takeaway to eat in the breakfast room we'd recommend dinner at the Bull's Head in Alton village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The best B&B we've ever been to. Can't wait to stay again. Gorgeous setting, lovely rooms, great breakfast and really lovely host. Never apologise for being chatty Liz, it was such a pleasure to be welcomed to your beautiful home. My main tip is stay a night longer as you will love it. A perfect antedote to Alton Towers....somewhere to recharge after a busy day on the rides.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chained Oak Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chained Oak Farm

Address: Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chained Oak Farm Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chained Oak Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.