We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic....real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chained Oak Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chained Oak Farm
Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Farley B&B and Inns
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic....real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during Alton Towers Scarefest event. The owner Liz, was friendly and welcoming and advised us to leave our car there, and walk to the park. Off we went, and had an amazing day. Our short walk home that night was made worthwhile by the beautiful warm room we found on out return. It was spotlessly clean, with beautiful furnishings and fittings. The next morning we went to the gorgeous conservatory, overlooking the farms beautiful grounds, to enjoy a fantastic full english! We left the car at the farm (saving yet another days parking £6!!!) and went backfor a bit more Alton Towers Fun.
Liz was extremeley welcoming and friendly, the accomodation was 100% and we could not fault the food. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
72
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Everything so clean and tidy. We were a few mins from Alton towers by car although it'd be a pleasant walk if dry!
Breakfast lovely, the room had a lovely view.

Cheaper alternative to the Alton towers hotels. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Myself, my wife, her little brother and my friend stayed at the chained oak b&b for 2 days whilst visiting Alton towers theme park. We were very happy with the way we were welcomed, the rooms were very cosy and welcoming, we were very well looked after including a full cooked breakfast in the morning with a selection of fresh juices and also fresh coffee and tea. our rooms were immaculate and were cleaned and beds made whilst we were out visiting the theme park. ensuring we had clean glasses, cups with adequate milk, tea and coffee available. all at a very reasonable price. I would recommend this b&b to anyone who is visiting Alton towers. very pleased.

Room Tip: any room is up to standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Chained Oak farm for our daughters 13th birthday and incorporated two days at Alton Towers. The accommodation was immaculate and perfect for our needs. The breakfast was delicious and catered for all tastes. Really this B&B felt like a home from home. The short walk to Alton Towers was actually quicker that the walk from the car park at Alton Towers (and free). I would advise anyone to take a look at the actual chained oak tree (on which the ride Hex is based), this is especially fun in the dark! The owners of Chained Oak are lovely and would do anything to accommodate your needs. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cannot fault anything at The Chained Oak B&B! 5 star & great price!

My boyfiend & I stayed here for 2 nights on a trip to Alton Towers at the beginning of October, after a long drive down from Scotland we were met by Liz & shown to our lovely warm room which was perfect for our short stay. After we settled in to our room we had a wander round & couldn't believe that the B&B was so close to the theme park that we could actually hear the screams coming from the Oblivion!! :) After reading the very useful folder found in our room we decided to take a trip out to the nearby town of Alton for dinner, the town is within walking distance (in the summer) but we took the car as we were starving. :p We ate in a lovely little pub/restaurant called The Bulls Head where we were served lovely homecooked meals by very friendly staff, I would definitely recommend this place! :)

The morning of our day at Alton Towers we went for breakfast at dining room of the B&B where there was a HUGE selection of cereals/museli but we were both tempted by Liz's cooked breakfast which was delicious & set us up for a fun-filled day at Alton Towers. On our second night we took advantage of Liz's hospitality once more & ate our take away in the dining room where there were plates/cutlery/condiments all provided, which was great! Another cooked breakfast on the morning of our departure set us up for our 5 hour car journey home!.

We loved the location of the B&B & will definitely be returning next year for our annual trip to Alton Towers! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had 2 nights at Chained Oak, while having a day at Alton Towers. What a beautiful quiet spot in the country with just a short walk to Alton Towers. We had a family room (which was actually 2 bedrooms with plenty of space) Liz was so accomodating and friendly, even letting me do some laundry while we were there. Great shower with water pressure (which has been lacking in most places, we've stayed at). Breakfast was lovely (with a view) Was a really wonderful stay & would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

All the lovely reviews are spot on. Cannot fault anything, and we will be back.
Stayed in a double room which was very nice. So close to Alton Towers and was just a short walk over the field or on the road (although no footpath or even a verge so field was safer!)
Thanks Liz for a lovely stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chained Oak Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chained Oak Farm

Address: Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Chained Oak Farm Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chained Oak Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chained Oak Farm to your Saves list