We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in UK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4DB, England
0871 222 3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Farley
Type: Gardens, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood and Katanga Canyon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still the best in UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Alton Towers many times before with our children, friends and family. Although, on this visit it was just me and my Wife. We are in our 50's but still loved the rides, queueing for the front on a couple. Yes, it is expensive just to turn up and pay on the day. We used our Tesco vouchers, so got in for free! It was the Easter holidays and the place was packed, however, we didn't have to queue too long for the main rides. We were at the park all day, and would agree with other reviewers that the food is poor and expensive! A decent cup of coffee is not on offer, just nescafe! That night we stayed at the Chained Oak B&B just near the park entrance which was great. See separate review.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,154
    1,519
    600
    345
    334
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun fun and more fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

a good day out with frends and family look out for 2 for 1 tickets as it dose cost a lot to get in if you take a packed lunch you have to carrie it round or put it in a looker but it is a big big place so you have to do a lot of walking but well worth it and the gardens are a must to see most of the rides are out of this world and a verry big car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“No queues!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited on a chilly Monday and really enjoyed it! It was very quiet and we didnt have to queue for anything so got on everything we wanted to and some things 2-3 times. Was ready to leave by 3pm but had to wait until 4pm to collect the photos we had picked as part of the 4 for £20 deal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Far too complacent with customer service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have to say i was disappointed with the overall experience of Alton Towers. Yes the rides are great, but by God they dont half make you pay for them. The entry fee is very high.

We had an issue with two of the rides breaking down one after the other. Bad luck on our part, i know, but this took up over two hours of our day where we didnt get on anything and just had to stand about waiting. I know this can happen and theres not much they can do about it, but i thought it would be worth while to speak to customer relations about our disappointment. I thought there must be some kind of system in place to compensate visitors who had this kind of bad luck during their time in the park.

I went into customer relations feeling fairly upbeat, i came out feeling insulted. I was offered return tickets to the park the next day for just £10 a head. This would be fine if there wasnt already a deal on that allowing all visitors to return the next day for £5 a head. Where was the logic? When i pointed this out to the nervous 19 year old boy who had been charged with dealing with me, he just shrigged and invited me to write a complaint on his ipad. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told no - they were in a meeting.

For a park which charges so much to enter, i would expect far higher levels of customer service/relations than this. It seems that once you've bought your ticket, they couldnt care less.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the best thrills in the UK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Returned here again recently and it still provides more thrills than anywhere else in the UK. Glad to see that they are building a new mega thrill rollercoaster (opening in May 2013 I think) as it needs a new big ride, as there hasn't been one for a while. The queuing can be a bit of a drag of course - try and get there for opening time would be my tip and you can get all the main rides done before the big crowds come in. Another tip is to definitely bring a backpack of drinks and snacks - save yourself a good bit of money that way. Still love the moment you hang in the air on "Oblivion" before it comes hurtling down to the ground!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.