We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alton ghost hunt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4DB, England
0871 222 9910
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Farley
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood and Katanga Canyon.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Alton ghost hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a sort of review as it was out of theme park hours 21.00-3.30 doing an organised ghost hunt, this was really interesting to know the history and gives you a different look of the park. All I can say is I've seen things *sits in corner and rocks*. Hint for everyone aswell. If allowed don't go in the summerhouse unless your really brave

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    949
    349
    214
    217
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love Alton Towers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Alton Towers is amazing, honestly it's great! I go at least once a year, and its always exciting every time I go. I went for my birthday with my friend, my Mum, her girlfriend, my sister and her boyfriend. I'd recommend you have an even number group when you go, because a lot of the rides are 2 seats or 4 seats, except the flume which you can get up to 5 people in, and Duel which can have 5 in aswell. Some rides have a very long wait, like air and nemesis. They can be up to around 2 hours. It sounds very long but it fly's by when your with friends. I recommend you either go on Air or Nemesis so you can go on more rides. They are both as equally amazing as each other. Oblivion never has much of a long queue. It can be from 5-30 minutes, I think it's because people are too scared to go on it! Honestly its not that bad. I'd recommend it to anyone!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love Alton Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love Alton Towers!! Me and my girlfriend try and go every year, we dont get bored and there is usually something new each time so we are happy!! I always collect the tokens in The Sun so we get the two free tickets and then to go back on the second day is about £9 for both of us, we stay in Stoke on Trent at the Weathervane which is about 6/7 miles away £50 a night and that includes breakfast, so you can certainly get value for money and do it on a budget, we usually stay for 3 nights and on the last day we either use the spa at Alton Towers or the Waterpark which both are great and price wise about £30 to use the spa and £35 for the waterpark!!

In my opinion Alton Towers is the closest thing we have to the Theme Parks you get in Florida and if you like theme parks i really recomend you go here, as i said we love it and even though we have been to Florida twice and have been to Alton Towers 4 times in the last 5 years we dont get bored of it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Alton towers is a must for anyone who loves rides. I love them but can never open my eyes on a ride lol! Plenty of food outlets, rest rooms and rides and attractions for all ages. I have been visiting Alton towers since 1997 and will continue to visit and I can't wait till my sons old enough to go on all the rides!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We used our annual Merlin passes to visit here for 3 days last summer, and we loved it. The annual pass gets us in an hour early, which we were excited about, but only let's you onto certain rides, where as I thought the whole park would be open, that was a slight let down but didn't spoil the fun.

Over the 3 days we ride pretty much went on every ride other than the kids ones and sonic spin all which had such a long wait time at every point of the day we went there.

The rides are awesome, real thrill seeker rides, we both loved them.

Food at the park is great. I really love the food at Merlin parks, the grill is my favourite but we also ate at the noodle place by Sonic Spinball too. Here comes my only complaint though, seating by the food areas. They get so busy, it is really hard to find somewhere to sit after you buy your food, this was so frustrating every day.

Overall though, we love the place though. And will go back this summer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.