We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theme park, shame about queue's??????????” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Farley Lane, Farley ST10 4DB, England
0871 222 3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Farley
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood and Katanga Canyon.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great theme park, shame about queue's??????????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Love this place, I would say it is the best theme park to go to. The only problem they have is that they have such long queue's thruogh the day? They should only allow so many people through to the park, then this allow those people to go on all the rides, as when we have always been we never never get to go on all the rides as queuing for 1-2 hours for one ride. They should just allow booking over phone/internet, so then they know how many people are in the grounds. But other by that sort some more rides out alton tower's need some new rides. Like America ones, I.E stand up ones? OR more wet rides?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,651
    1,185
    459
    258
    255
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“water load of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Decided to book this as a half term surprise holiday for the family. Spent 3 days (and 2 nights) there during half term. With a choice of 2 hotels opted for the Alton Towers hotel itself as opposed to the watermark hotel (splash Landings). Spent the Tuesday and Thursday in the Water park and Wednesday at the the theme park.

Arrived about midday to find our room already ready and were greeted by the first example of what was consistently excellent customer service. Was impressed with the room. Everything you needed and although no-one would expect to be in the room that long, was a little surprised at the range of channels available on the television. As i say, didn't plan to watch a lot but more variety would have been advantageous for when it it was time to retire to the room with the children. The check in procedure as a whole was very smooth and the room was ready ahead of schedule, a big bonus and thumbs up there.

Although we took the exterior route to get to the water park, we learnt, and used the internal route for subsequent visits to that part of the resort and was impressed with the layout and the way in which the excitement built for the kids by the fact they could see what the water park had to offer before they had even got there. Again, staff were very helpful and gaining access to the watermark using the passes was very easy. Before we knew it, we were in the changing rooms getting better. The changing rooms have good facilities, plenty of family lockers and changing rooms. Just take care though as the only criticism is to to with the mechanism by which the locker re-emburses you with the two £1 coins needed. They are ejected rather fast so have your hand at the ready if you don't want to spend ten minutes chasing your coins half way down the corridor.

The area in and around the slides and attractions was very pleasant, and clean. The floor surface made it very easy to walk on and provided you were not running everywhere, you never really felt in danger of slipping. This is a major plus and is often so overlooked by other water theme parks i have attended in the past where you fear for even step. There seemed to be lots of personnel on hand if you needed them, the attractions and slides were great fun and the kids loved it in there. The idea that you could enter the heated pool from inside the facility before it took you outside into the open air is just one example of the clever thinking when it came to the planning of the layout.

Had already booked the first night at Flambo's restaurant, an all you can eat buffet style restaurant. Again, service was excellent, food variety was impressive to say the least with no-one left un-catered for. As you would expect though, feeding so many people on mass with such a variety of food means something might be sacrificed. The quality of some of the dishes was not quite as good as it looked. The meat from the carver was a touch dry, and the chinese option was disappointing. For anyone who enjoys dining at chinese restaurants would have been able to recognise the fact that the dishes were most definitely from frozen pre-packed origin (ready meal style) rather than freshly made on site. My ice remarked that the pasta bolognese was also very bland. In short, everything edible, the kids will love it for a good fill, just don't expect too much quality.At £19.95 per head, its touch and go whether or not i would consider it worth the money.

The second day was spent at the theme park after a very hearty all you can eat breakfast. The breakfast was by far and a way the best meal I had had during my time there. Again, great service, superb variety and all products tasted very nice indeed.

Sadly, we were a little dissapointed with the theme park its self. Once you eliminate the 3 big rides as such, there doesn't feel like there is too much to go on or entertain the family with. The cold weather dampened the mood and we managed to eek out about 4 hours in the park, thanks mainly to the haunted house ride which my son adored. It was out of season, but you felt like the atmosphere was somewhat flat and the park at times felt deserted. If you weigh up an average of 30-45 mins queueing time for the big rides and the park only being open from 10-4 for half term, i would be inclined to say tickets are overpriced, unless you get them on an offer. Don't feel the family ticket gave us value for money. One more thing. Should you choose the nature walk to get back to the hotel, it is pleasant and scenic but there is no pre warning of the turnstile you need to negotiate to get back into the hotel grounds. If you are going this way. don't take a buggy!!!! We had to pass/throw ours over a barbed wire fence to ensure it could stay with us as we could not fit it through the turnstile.

With a few hours to pass before tea, we chilled out in the Ma Garritas bar. A few features helped to keep the kids occupied for a bit and the Nintendo play area and lego area proved popular with our two. Thumbs up there. Shame about the bar prices but we expected that. Typical city centre hotel prices so just beware if you are going to put everything on your room account. You may just get a shock come the end of your stay if you get carried away with being cash-free for a day or so.

The food again that night was good, not exceptional, but very good. Tried the waiter service restaurant (something garden i think - i dont quite recall) Was a little dissapointed with the fish and chips. Presented very well but break into the batter and it was like one of those scenarios where you buy a family packet of expensive crisps and the crisps only occupy a third of the bag. Im sure by comment of where is the fish echoed through the deep fried void that was the gap between fish and crunchy batter. A nice 3 course meal on the whole though but with a couple of minor disappointments. the size of the bill being one of them.

Not too much else to comment on really apart from to say that I enjoyed the holiday as a whole. Highlights were the customer service offered by all the staff, the water park, and the overall cleanliness and standard of the resort. On the downside, a lot of it is overpriced, and the entertainment could be of a better standard, including the atmosphere of the park itself. If the park could speak, it would have said, "i dont want to open today, but i will"

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“New Years Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Alton Towers is, by far, the best theme park experience. As a family we love theme park visits, and are regular Merlin Pass holders, but Alton Towers brings us back again and again. We spent a couple of nights over New Year and it was fabulous. The entertainment in the hotel was brilliant, the food spectacular (which we feel is rare when catering en masse for a gala dinner), and the theme park activities were lovely. Staff in this resort are second to none. Helpful, down to earth and friendly. Cannot recommend this enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well where do i start”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The resort was unfortunately half closed but we wasnt aware of that before we got there and it was. waiting time for the rides was dreadfull....overpriced food which is typcail for thes places but nothing was easy! i spent more time in a queues than anything else and everytime we go and sit down was always a mess think you need more cleans and two of the staff was so rude when i was asking for help i will not go here again! ....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Moshi Monsters!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great park in the summer. However a cunning marketing event drew us here in February for a Moshi Monsters event. Had we not also stayed at Splash Landings Hotel I think the Moshi event in the park would have been very disappointing, it did not seem well organised and not much to do apart from a couple of meet the Moshies and collect some stuff, not what I would call a Quest. Much of the park facilities and rides were closed for the season (as stated on the Alton towers website), queues for those rides that were open (all of those advertised on the website) were short to start with and then some (Air, Sonic and Nemesis) increased to 45 -50 minutes during the day, even Squirrel Nutty! Had we paid the ticket price I would have said not good value for money, however with a Merlin Pass it was free! In the summer I would rate this park as very good however due to lack of eating in/getting warm facilities at this time of year, and the anti climax of the Moshi event in the park, only average.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alton Towers to your Saves list