We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend at Alton Towers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trough Ivy House

Save Saved
You added Trough Ivy House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trough Ivy House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Longshaw Lane, Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Farley B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend at Alton Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hospitality was perfect, full english breakfast was lovely, and the rooms were clean with lovely finishing touches. Just one thing to be aware of -the parking area is quite tight to get in and out of.
Will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

What more can I say than the title!

Room- everything that's needed. Would be better if larger tv. Nice grounds

Breakfast- set me up for the day

Location- straight outside of the main gates to the park

Friendly owners

Decent pubs nearby

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

my husband and i stayed for 2 nights.the whole hotel is very,very clean,terry and carol are a lovely couple.we were made to feel welcome and we did feel at home. we had the full english breakfast and it was excellent,i never have fried bread but i ate it here it was really good,the food is all local not cheap supermarket rubbish.alton towers entrance is just round the corner,a 4 minute walk if that.it is very quiet considering you are right next door to the entrance of alton towers.although they do not allow takeaways in the rooms (don't blame them) you are more than welcome to use the breakfast room where carol will provide plates and cutlery.we will stay again,thinking of booking the self catering apartment for a week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here as part of a two day visit to Alton Towers. The owners are lovely and they kindly let us leave our car in their car park before we checked in so we did not have to pay the charges in the park (we were there for 9:30am). You can literally not get any closer to the park - it is over the road.

The owners Carol or Terry are lovely and friendly - upon checking in Terry gave us the choice of two rooms as there was two available. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. The B&B also has a license to sell alcohol, so we were able to have a drink in their beautiful garden in the evening.

Breakfast was very nice. Very good quality fresh local produce, even the jam is home made.

Upon checking out we were able to leave the car in the car park to enjoy another day in the park and pick it up when we had finished.

We were made to feel very welcome at Trough Ivy House and we will definately be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

myself and my now husband stayed here september 2010, right opposite entrance to alton towers, impossible to get closer! u can park here for free. Rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the suite, had own little sitting room, and the most comfortable bed in the world!, we paid the very reasonable extra of £6 for full breakfast, very good quality! owners and staff so friendly, feels like you have known them forever! beautiful gardens to sit and enjoy the beautiful views, so peaceful!
We will always try to stay here on any visit to the area!
Finally i noticed one review that stated terrible, regarding the reviewer cancelling the 2 night stay, that to me isn't a standard review and does not warrant a terrible rating, I'm sure he exaggerated the amount of times the owner called etc, shall be reporting his review as isn't following guidelines as he never stayed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant accommodation we stayed in the self catering swallows nest, had everything you needed! Alton towers only a 5min walk away, secure car park. Lovely helpful hosts too! Highly reccommended to all .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a lovely stay here for a trip to alton towers. Comfortable, very clean & quiet room. You pay extra for breakfast which is delicious and sets you up til lunch. Lovely hosts. You can't stay closer for Alton Towers - it is literally across the road and you are there in a few minutes. And on the way back at closing time it is a big relief knowing you don't have to wait in the huge queue for the monorail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trough Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trough Ivy House

Address: Longshaw Lane, Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Hotel Class:4 star — Trough Ivy House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Alton Towers main gates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trough Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trough Ivy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.