We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4355 Ashford-Dunwoody Road, Dunwoody, GA 30346   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dunwoody
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Consistently Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am in Atlanta occasionally on business travel and have stayed at this Crowne Plaza on several occasions. I just returned from a quick to Atlanta and had my most underwhelming stay yet at this hotel. I'll break down my experience for you:

Location: If you're in Dunwoody on business, this is great for you. It's right next to some monstrous office parks and is directly off 285 and located down the road from MARTA if you want to escape the suburbs and head to Midtown, Buckhead, or Downtown.

Front Desk: The front desk staff has always been great. They consistently exceed my expectations and always thank me for being an IHG Rewards member and for staying at the hotel.

Public Spaces: I appreciate the whole atrium feel of the lobby, bar, and restaurant area since it fits with the wooded atmosphere outside the hotel, but it's a little dated and needs a facelift.

Rooms: For a hotel that is located right next door (literally STEPS away) from IHG Headquarters, you would think they would step their game up. These rooms are dated, the water is either cold or skin melting hot, and the tub is just something you would expect out of 1998, not 2015. I did, however, have a nice view (as nice as a view gets in Dunwoody) and I could see the Atlanta skyline in the distance. The beds were typical hotel beds, not too hard and not too soft. The decor wasn't "Motel Six", but it wasn't up to what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza next to IHG HQ.

Food and Beverage: This is where the hotel absolutely drops the ball in a most unacceptable way. The bar is FAR too small for a hotel that specializes in business and convention travel (it's not news to anyone that people on business and convention travel like to DRINK). The night I had dinner in the bar (my sandwich took FOREVER to come and the steak was tough and overcooked), the staff was completely overwhelmed and they verbalized it. Hugo did his best to run the bar well (like he does), but a female who had on a "Supervisor" nametag was cursing and I witnessed her pick up the phone, apparently call the kitchen, and proceed to yell and swear at the person on the other end over how long it was taking someone to get a "medium rare steak salad". I know she was probably frustrated with the kitchen, however this is absolutely unaccpetable, especially when someone is at supervisor level. The bar also apparently was running out of beer and had no pineapple juice on the evening I was there. Long story short, the bar is in need of a makeover, both in size and decor and in staffing.

I also had breakfast in the hotel yesterday and had to flag down a supervisor to place an order from the menu. I know most people get the breakfast buffet (also subpar), but I wanted to order from the menu. One would assume the hotel makes more money from menu orders, but maybe not? The waitress I did eventually get recovered well, however a bad taste was left in my mouth from the experience.

Overall: This hotel has massive potential. A great location across from Perimeter Mall in a town filled with great restaurants and sprawling office parks would make this an ideal location for anyone traveling to the area with its close proximity to interstates and MARTA. Sadly the dated decor and some massive service fails makes this hotel far less attractive than other IHG hotels in the area, including the Staybridge Suites down the road. One would expect big things from the hotel next door to IHG. I didn't have a choice about staying at CP this time, however whenever I have a choice in the future, it will sadly not be this hotel. I do not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a Club Floor room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
12
6
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a convention and so the rate was discounted. And it was well worth it. Spacious rooms, very nice bathroom furnishings and overall very pleasant. If you sign up for the IHG membership you automatically receive free wifi.

Room Tip: Sign up for the IHG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has beautiful gardens in the center of the hotel down to the restaurant. The rooms are gorgeous. The staff is very helpful with directions and help. Self service parking was adequate and easy to use saving $15 per day. the only major problem is leaving and entering the hotel by car. The road is very difficult to get into traffic at morning and evening (4-7PM). there are four lanes to cross from one lane. There are around 4 police at the intersection during this time to help, but it is still rough. All and all it is a wonderful hotel. There is some handicapped parking very near the elevators from the self serve. WI fi is free with membership of their program

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Crowne Plaza has excellent customer service and the hotel is clean and neat. The hotel is dated but at the same time updated carpet, furniture etc. If you are staying in the Dunwoody area, a great option.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed one night and chose Crowne Plaza due to Perimeter Mall location as had an early morning apt there. Check in was fast with very friendly employees. Room was very comfortable and quiet as requested. Had dinner in bar area that was quite good. Was given some extras at check in so had a very good dessert also. Service was slow, but understandable as saw only one person working this room. Had a very early breakfast buffet next morning that was great. Omelet station not open that early, but many more items to choose from and all very pleasing. Shuttle took me to mall and on return trip could not get close to entrance. Was raining so would have appreciated an offer of an umbrella. Check out easy and staff was again very pleasant and friendly. Would probably stay here again when in area.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jailita E, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Gstrc501,

We appreciate your feedback and will use your suggestion to vamp up our shuttle service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a Valentine's and wedding anniversary weekend getaway. We got a great rate through Hotwire. Because it was our anniversary, the hotel threw in some extras, which were greatly appreciated. The location of this hotel is excellent, right across from Perimeter Mall. I am very particular about hotels and will tell you that you won't go wrong by staying here!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jailita E, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Gstrc501,

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding property! Great location in proximity to MARTA and nearby Perimeter Mall. The reason for the loss of one full star is due to the subpar food service/quality in the cafe. It took forever to get our food that was cold, too salty, and sides that were not what was ordered. Walk across the street to Goldfish (or Cheesecake Factory) if you get hungry.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jailita E, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sharks 90,
Our team at the Crowne Plaza would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a little disappointed we did not meet all of your expectation at our hotel. We will use this review to improve on the quality and service in our culinary department. Please contact us if you have in questions or concerns.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia

Address: 4355 Ashford-Dunwoody Road, Dunwoody, GA 30346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dunwoody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dunwoody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear your head. Hear yourself think. Amid the Bustle of one of Atlanta's most desirable business locations Crowne Plaza Atlanta Paermieter at Ravinia offers you all the attributes of the finest business hotels. Impeccable service, Outstanding facilities and something more. A park-like setting of garden paths, rushing waterfalls and quiet pools. A setting that cultivates camaraderie, fresh thinking, new ideas. Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Situated in the heart of the Perimeter Center area, this Atlanta area hotel boasts ease of access to GA 400, I-285, Ashford Dunwoody Road, the Perimeter Mall, and many upscale restaurants. This Atlanta hotel is perfectly located for business and group travelers close to IHG, T-Mobile, Allscripts, UPS, IBM, CDC, Cox Communications, St. Joseph s Hospital, Scottish Rite Hospitals and Newell Rubbermaid, Arby’s Group, Auto Trader, CH2M Hill, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, Cotton States Insurance, Cox Communications, Cox Enterprises and Crawford and Co. The Atlanta, GA hotel features high-speed Internet access in all rooms, an indoor pool and health club, three restaurants, Bistro 55, The Mix lounge, Sylvia s Coffee Cafe featuring Starbucks coffee and the Four Diamond - Award winning LaGrotta Italian fine dining restaurant (just voted best hotel restaurant in Atlanta by ZAGAT). In addition, 32,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space provides both social and meeting guests a relaxed and memorable experience. For your convenience, the Atlanta hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the MARTA train station located directly across the street at Perimeter Mall, which provides continuous transportation to and from the airport, as well as a variety of other Atlanta locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Atlanta
Crowne Plaza Perimeter Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter At Ravinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.