We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is "Aged" but fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 Crown Pointe Parkway, Dunwoody, GA 30338   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates From $119!
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dunwoody
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Place is "Aged" but fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pros:

The bed is great...Slept awesome...Very comfortable.
The Pillows are cool, you have a whole range of choices as 5 are on the be (mini pillows)
The linens are great quality and nice to sleep in.
The in-room decaf coffee is awesome, better than in the lobby/restaurant.
Half and half included,
Free happy hour with snacks from 5:30-7:30 is great.
Location, okay...but you either have to take the shuttle or walk a half mile or so to go anywhere., though there is a steak house at the bottom of the hill. Rental car is suggested, even if for a short trip to the mall (stores/eating).
Great breakfast! Omelets cooked to order!
STAFF IS AWESOME, very personable.

Cons:
NO WI-FI unless you pay an ungodly fee of $10 or more a day. Ridiculous amount. $1-2 a day, ok, cuz you figure most people are gone during the day anyway.
Hot water is never really hot....tepid and you have to wait 10 minutes for it to warm up. Aged plumbing?
The furniture had holes in it, one as big as the base of a coffee cup (on the couch) ...bathroom wooden stand was falling apart.
Lampshades falling apart.
Think of it as an elderly hotel that needs some maintenance....but if you aren't a fanatic for absolute perfection, it's quite okay.

I'd stay here again, but for the cost, and no wi-fi, and lack of hot water at times, I'd have to argue the price. I've stayed at better places for less money....having traveled the world. Don't expect 5 stars, but the people who stay here are mostly here for training nearby, so consider it a comraderie type place to meet other IT people. NO WI-FI? You gotta be kidding!

Room Tip: Be careful when booking multi-business people on one reservation...Some may want smoking and some no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear beachldyone:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We want you to know that we have worked with both our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that our rooms are meeting or exceeding expectations. Again, we apologize and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    129
    66
    49
    25
See reviews for
130
54
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. We had a standard 1 king bed, 2 room suite. It was a large size, about 400 SF, with a bedroom with a king bed which could be closed off from the living room which had a sofa bed. The bathroom was good sized.

The suite was entered by a door on an indoor corridor overlooking a large atrium. Three glass elevators overlooked the atrium, but not all seemed to work all the time. The first floor had the lobby, a decorative pool, a Starbucks and small restaurant, and a large area with tables and chairs for breakfast only. The breakfast had a good variety, with made-to-order omelets. Many people gave the omeleteer a dollar. There is also a small indoor pool. We had good sandwiches at the restaurant one dinner.

There were a few negatives, such as being able to hear your neighbors, a bathroom door not able to close, a broken toilet seat, and slightly worn furniture, but in all it was quite acceptable.

The service was good and friendly.

The hotel is a short distance from the MARTA Sandy Springs station. There is a hotel shuttle which picks you up when you call. You should wait by the Taxi sign. It is walkable, but not easily with luggage. Whenever you want a ride to and from there to any other reasonably close place, you ask for a ride, at which time someone jumps into a an old ?12 passenger van, which is usually available, and off you go. I never knew if tipping was usual, but I mostly tipped about $2. At least it was cheaper than a taxi.

There is no free WIFI, but there are 2 free computers in the Business room, which sometimes work, and a printer which may need ink. I asked 3 times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Last weekend marked our 10th stay at the Embassy Suites Perimeter Center. It is the only hotel we will stay at in Atlanta and for good reason. Great rooms, great rate, comfortable beds, clean room and kitchenette, and the best courtesy van driver in Atlanta (Hector). Location cannot be beat and is within walking distance to the MARTA, Walmart, Perimeter Center Mall and Atlanta Bread. It is like visiting old friends.

Thank you Embassy Suites Perimeter Center and see you next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower level near elevator. You'll be one of the first to attack the wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowpens, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here in October and could not have been more pleased. The area is good for walking and the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle. The free breakfast was one of the best I've ever had.

We stayed in Buckhead last year, and this was by far a better experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here Christmas day visiting my mom in a nursing home. The staff were great, we checked in late due to our flight delay, no restaurants open for carry but the staff hooked us up with the only place open for carryout Chinese food. The staff also told us what was nearby and printed out directions to wherever we wanted to go. The Perimeter Mall is very close, we went the day after x-mas, very, very crowded but what a mall......they have everything..... a must see. Many fine restaurants within one or two miles from the hotel. The hotel has free breakfast every morning, even free cooked eggs and pancakes. Will stay the next time I go to Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Embassy Suites Perimeter Center in November, 2012 with my son and his friend for a birthday weekend. We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past. As written in other reviews, the Embassy brand brings with it the expectation that you will have the Manager's Reception (drinks and snacks) as well as the Cooked to order hot breakfast. I also appreciate the fact that each Embassy has two-room suites with a locking door between them, as well as two TV's in each suite. They also have an atrium setting that offers guests a good place to hang out if they don't want to be in their room.

This particular Embassy Suites, I believe, is a little older than some other Embassy hotels. I'm pretty low-maintenance, so this doesn't bother me. That being said, I did notice that other reviews listed such things as the wallpaper peeling in places and little things like that. So I took a closer look this last time, and I did notice that there might be a small stain here or there (always in an out of the way place) or a worn portion of wallpaper here and there that might cause other guests to get upset.

As for me, I was very happy with my room. The facilities were first-rate and very clean. The indoor pool was in great shape as was the workout room. My room was also in great condition. The atrium was, again, a good place to hang out and watch football, have a snack/drink, etc.

Also, the parking is complimentary, so you don't have to pay extra for that like you would at other Embassy Suites where I have stayed. The location is excellent, with many restaurants and a good mall (Perimeter Place) very close to the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again. The property may be a bit older, but it is still one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a weekend with my family at the hotel and we had the worst experience. Front desk staff is the most unprofessional staff I have ever experienced in over 35yrs.

I had booked & payed about 12weeks in advance and none of my requests were honored. Despite them printing this on my receipt, staff said that they did not have any rooms and we were put on the 3rd floor in a clearly smoking room. Although my entire family could smell the smoke staff was arguing with us that it was a non- smoking room. Later she had the guts to say, oh well, I guess they didn't put the fan in there, or would you like a fan?.....really?? After a lot of back and forth on how they didn't have rooms higher than 3rd level, we were eventually put on the 10th floor in a non-smoking room but still very dirty. Couch and floor looked like there was dry vomit on them.

While in the room, front desk staff kept ignoring us when we called for trash bags and when I went down stairs to get them, they said they were out. The hotel had no trash bags for the entire 3-days and 2nights. We had to use our own plastic shopping bags and the laundry bag.

Front desk staff are the most ignorant human beings I have ever met. They have a sign in the exercise room for complimentary earphones but when I requested, a female staff *sighed* like I was such a disturbance.

On our way out later that day, we stopped at the front desk to request no room service. A young male staff was sitting in back area facing our direction and did not approach the front desk for the first 3-5minutes we were standing there until the 10yr old with us said "he is just sitting there" - at which time he stood up and said "YES".

The hotel room was noisy, I am a sound sleeper but I was woken up several times both nights by kids/teenagers running around. We had to stick papertowels under the front door to block the light from outside and keep some noise out. The breakfast is aweful, potatoes are cold and soggy, toast is stale, oatmeal cold and sticky, fruits not fresh - just a total mess.

On a bright side, the bed is comfortable.

I had read some complains about this hotel prior to making my reservations but thought as a very patient person, I would "pack EXTRA patience" along with my luggage - but the frustrations and mistreatment by staff is not worth the price. The staff will do everything in their powers to treat you like an incompetent human being and that's sad.

Room Tip: Do not go there.(period)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve.

This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for the inconveniences that you and your family endured.

We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Again, we apologize for the issues that occurred, we will be sure to work with all of our team members to ensure that we make the necessary corrections.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Daniel Sawran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center

Address: 1030 Crown Pointe Parkway, Dunwoody, GA 30338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dunwoody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dunwoody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled upscale hotel located in the Perimeter business and shopping district of Atlanta, adjacent to MARTA, providing access to all Atlanta attractions including the airport, Georgia World Congress Center and the Georgia Aquarium. All guests receive Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and Manager's Reception daily. Hotel offers free parking and complimentary shuttle service within 3 miles to a variety of restaurant options from casual to fine dining and great shopping at Perimeter Mall. Onsite amenities are restaurant, Starbucks, free fitness and business centers, indoor pool and meeting space. Hilton Honors Program and Hilton Stay Connected wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Hotel Dunwoody
Embassy Suites Atlanta Perimeter Center
Atlanta Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.