We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else, there are so many better Italian Restaurants” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
4788 Ashford Dunwoody Rd., Dunwoody, GA 30338
(770) 394-6676
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 50 restaurants in Dunwoody
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else, there are so many better Italian Restaurants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I don't know what happened to this place, the food is just not good. And its obvious from the empty parking lot on a Saturday night when every other restaurant in the area has long waits. This used to be a great restaurant, but now they have a very limited menu of very average good. Of the 5 people in our party, non liked their food. As usual their house wine is watered down, but more disturbing they pour it into regular water glasses, which in our case had just come out of the dishwasher, which obviously uses a bleach based detergent, because the water left from the dishwasher on the glasses smelled and tasted strongly of bleach. Very distastefull. Also during our brief time there, at least 3 times waiters dropped plates to the floor that of course shattered and made a big noise. This is just unacceptable.

Spend your money somewhere else, you will not enjoy it here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

27% Recommend
    2
    3
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Food is very run of the mill. Lots of it. Can be noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very mediocre food; poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a party of 7 on Dec. 3, a not so busy Saturday evening when we arrived. The $9 Calamari Fritti was barely enough for one person. We ordered two for the table and had to chew very slowly to make it last long. Italian Mojito tasted like diluted sugar water to me. The mint leaves were thickly green with hard stems and not crushed. For entree, I ordered Parmesan-Crusted Sole. The first bite was so potently salty that blinded my buds for a long while before I can recollect myself to try the second.

The service was very bad. The young lady was chatty and delightful, but the table serving is not charming at all. She didn't provide us with enough water before, during and after the meal. Not sure if it's their intention to force us to order more drinks. One entree for the party guest was almost 15 minutes late. Another one for other table was mistaken for ours. When I barely finished my Sole, she almost robbed my dish and knife away then asked "Are you done?". What can I say-- not yet, give me back the plate?

My partner ordered a Warm Spinach & Shrimp for $13. One option is to add scallop for additional $1. He said no scallop needed when placed the order. But no shrimp showed us later, either. He also strongly disliked the saltiness of the salad.

Overall, the place gives you a comfortable setting for sit-down meal. But it's not a place for good Italian food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New menu, but everything was SALTY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have been going here for years, but was suprised to see virtually nobody here this evening during prime time. They had just put out a new menu, and we tried several new items. Everything was nearly too salty to eat!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Italian food with good service and reasonable prices. Simple as that.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Good Italian food with good service and reasonable prices. Simple as that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.