We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peters' Italian Rest. is excellent~!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's - CLOSED

Peter's
5592 Chamblee Dunwoody Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30338-4111 (Formerly High Cotton)
770-394-9401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peters' Italian Rest. is excellent~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is one of my favorite ATL restaurants!

The food at Peter's is great! Salads and soups are always good; but the the daily pasta specials (usually different types of Ravioli) are phenominal. While the food is really delicious... it's the atmospher that makes this a fun place!

Owner, Peter A., is always walking and talking with everyone. He is engaging and funny - and always has a story to share.

It's the mixture of great food, great service, and friendly atmosphere that makes Peter's one of my favorite restaurants in ATL.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Italian with no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The food here is perfectly decent, but you should be hungry for Italian or you will have a hard time making a choice. Food was tasty; chicken Francese was tender and the spinach garlicky and very good. Husband liked the meatballs. Drinks were excellent but asking for a specific brand raised the price from $6 to $12. Salads were a la carte, and since we thought the prices a bit high, this was disappointing. We had a lackluster server, but the others tried to make up for him. The acoustics here are awful. Although the restaurant is relatively small, it is very loud; we felt that we were IN at least two conversations going on nearby. Most of all, however, this restaurant lacks atmosphere. It has no charm or style. Despite the decent food, there is really no reason to go back, as there are many, many other outstanding restaurants in the same area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average food, loud atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently met a couple for dinner last evening at Peter's . We were seated next to a large group who apparently felt that they had rented out the entire restaurant because they were so loud we had to almost scream to hear our conversation. We asked for a different table when seated and were told that there were no other ones available. The service was very good and we could see that the wait staff were also a bit stressed at the noise level from the party. I suppose the most upsetting thing for us is that Peter did not offer any assistance or apologiy for the poor dining experience, even though it was apparent to the entire room. If Peter's wishes to rent out his resuaurant for banquets or large private parties, he shoudl at least tell his other patrons for the evening that it would be a dining experience as that of a banquet hall .. The food was okay but there are many , many more choices for dining that can provide the same or better quality food and dining experience. We all felt like we had been to a loud sports bar!
A note about the food... the caprese salad was fresh, the lasagna and chicken francese were tasty but not outstanding enough to need to return for more. The sponge cake dessert looked like something that came from Costco but not as good.
Pick another restaurant to spend a hundred dollars.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peter's offers delicious Italian cuisine with personal, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Peter's is a family favorite of our's. We have been going there since Peter opened and visit about once a month. They recently made a few changes to the menu, which I found improved an already great selection. One impressive entree offering is the scallops served over a mushroom risotto...delicious. They also have great sea bass and sole dishes, and, of course, all the regular favorites like Veal Parmesan and Veal Marsala. My wife's favorite is the chicken diamante, which takes a little extra time to prepare **we usually order it with our wine to give them a head's up in the kitchen**, but it's worth the wait!

In addition to the entrees, their salads are all favorites of mine. It's often hard to choose between the Caesar, Willie, Caprese (amazing!), and the Wedge. All are great. My wife usually goes with the Willie and I do the Caprese, then we share both.

Peter is usually around and eager to welcome his patrons. Most of the staff have been there since they opened, and they are all friendly and helpful, willing to accommodate any special requests.

I recommend Peter's to anybody in the Dunwoody area looking for a great Italian restaurant with a mix of classic dishes and new dishes definitely worth trying.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Casual, Elegant, Delicious, Pleasant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Peter and son, Alex, have a great "continental" Italian restaurant with delicious food, excellent, attentive service, and a very nice wine list. Never a disappointment at Peter's. The kitchen staff must be there a long time because the food is consistently great. Love the veal chop, but the pasta dishes are just like you would get at home. Cozy bar--and intimate surroundings in a pleasant hushed dining room. Outdoor seating is great when the Atlanta weather cooperates--usually in the fall or early winter. But that shouldn't stop you.

Larry, our "born in Brooklyn" waiter with great stories about his trip from NY through the Ginger Man in Beverly HIlls, has landed in Dunwoody, thankfully. He's a blast from the past and a joy have as a server. Peter will come by to make sure that you're well cared for and the food meets your expectations. It's always exceeded ours--and he's such a gracious host. See you there--often.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.