We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Italy ~ in Dunwoody (Atlanta), GA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carbonara Trattoria

Carbonara Trattoria
5499 Chamblee-Dunwoody Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30082
+1 678-587-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carbonara Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Dunwoody
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mt. Vernon Hwy
Transit: MARTA Bus Route: 150 Perimeter Center/Dunwoody Village
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heart of Italy ~ in Dunwoody (Atlanta), GA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Chef, Kitchen, and Wait Staff were all wonderfully helpful and sensitive to Vegetarians in our party. Others ordered authentic, traditional dishes that were ALL Amazing. Only one other restaurant in Atlanta (near downtown) can do a Risotto as it SHOULD BE DONE ... THANK YOU FOR A DINNER TO REMEMBER!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cozy Home Feel with Half and Half”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited 12/14/2012

My family loves Italian cuisine. Opposed to dining at our usual Maggiano's or Brio, we chose to venture our taste buds to Carbonara, since it's also highly rated. The restaurant was hard to find, but upon entering, it immediately felt like home. I loved the openness and "family style" seatings. The food took extremely long to prepare, but it was hot and fresh. Two people ordered the salmon and rated it an 8. Two people ordered the chicken marsala and gave it an 8.5 and 6.0. My husband did not give an exact description of the taste, but he thought it was horrible. I ordered the fettuccini primavera. Although I knew it only came with peas, carrots, etc, I thought both the presentation and taste reminded me of a TV dinner. I did not think it was worth $16.00. I'm glad 3/5 of us enjoyed the meals, but I would definitely not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice Dunwoody spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Have had 2 meals since the open; pleased with both. Dunwoody has a tradition of difficulty when it comes to keeping restaurants. Italian has been the one exception and we might see history repeating. Service was very good and the owner was "omnipresent." Good crowd and all seemed to enjoy. The osso bucco was nicely done along with a very nice risotto. Wine list did not break the bank. The cannoli were a little disappointing, but likely impossible to "do it all" in the north Georgia suburbs. Happy to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Now, that's Italian !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here three times. The food is authentic Italian. I should know, my parents are from Calabria. I had the fettuccini Bolognese and my wife had the penne Arrabiatta. Both were al dente with just the right amount of "gravy". We have decided to dine here once a week. Dunwoody needs a true Italian restaurant. Carbonara is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant last night. We received prompt, polite & fast service. The owner was present & helpful to patrons, as well as staff. The food was fresh and delicious. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carbonara Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Carbonara Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carbonara Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.