We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill

Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill
4639-D N. Shallowford Rd., Dunwoody, GA 30338
+1 678-705-8268
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 restaurants in Dunwoody
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner
Description: In both Hebrew and Arabic, the word "sababa" is slang for "awesome," "fun," or "cool." But it originates from Arabic poetry and literally means "ardent love," or "fervent longing." At Cafe Sababa, we strive to offer you an awesome, fun and cool culinary experience with our fresh, authentic Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes including grilled chicken, fish, beef and lamb, and we hope you will develop an ardent love for our food and a fervent longing to visit us again and again. Chef/Owner Doni Tamli has over 25 years of restaurant and catering experience. A native of the seaside city of Acco, Israel, Chef Tamli brings his knowledge of the spices and cooking styles of the Mediterranean and Middle East and offers his unique versions of traditional favorites. Chef Tamli owns Cafe Sababa with his wife, Ann, a third-generation native Atlantan. Their two sons, Ariel and Gil, work in the restaurant as well. We offer dine-in, take-out and catering services. Cafe Sababa's lamb burger was noted as a "Dish Worth The Drive" on Atlanta Eats TV in November 2013. The restaurant was voted as one of Atlanta's top Middle Eastern/Eastern Mediterranean Restaurants in a poll by the Atlanta Journal/Constitution in 2012, and was honored by the Dunwoody Chamber of Commerce as the runner up for the 2011 Best of Dunwoody "Good Eats" Business Award.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've been here several times and are always happy with it. We usually get the appetizer combo (which has a nice sampling of spreads and salads), as well as falafel wraps, and the lamb burger. The tabbouli is excellent, as is the sababa salad (mostly cucumbers, feta, dressing).

The chef/owner is pretty much always present and makes sure all is well. The inside is nice, although small. This is in a very dull looking strip that gets no foot traffic whatsoever, but if it was downtown or in a more 'hip' part of town, you'd hear about this place constantly, because the food is that good, like really good quality home-made mediterranean food.

Not sure if the price is one or two dollar signs (or maybe in between). A wrap/burger+side are around 10 bucks or so, whereas other plated 'meals' (kabobs, stews) are more like 15-18 range.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    25
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife are spending a week in the area to find a new place to live as we will be moving down here next month. We could not have picked a better place for our first meal. The owner was personable, friendly and helpful with menu suggestions. The lamb burger was tasty and juicy...better than anything I could have come up with, and I cook a lot. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“So great I now eat here 2 to 3 times a month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food, service and ambience of Cafe Sababa is so good I find myself eating here 2 to 3 times a month.
Especially good hummus and falafel prepared by Israeli born chef. Also, love the big salads, such as their new curried chicken salad. The scoop of curried chicken salad is placed on a large green salad.
All of the homemade dressings and sauces are great. Plus the prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my new favorite restaurant. Friendly and unpretentious with absolutely some of the best food I've ever tasted. We will definitely go back. I'm thrilled to find such lovingly prepared and excellent cuisine right around the corner. The owner and staff clearly take pride in the food they serve and the relaxed atmosphere they create.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably the most friendly resturant on the trip so far.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had the falafel and hummus app and it was better than average. Had the lamb burger and sababa salad side. The burger was good, but the sababa salad was outstanding.

Good little family neighborhood place. I'd go back if for nothing else than the friendly service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Been to Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.