We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like the first time everytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody

J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody
4701 Ashford Dunwoody Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30338-5503
770-512-0153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Dunwoody
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Meadow Lane
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's like the first time everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

For the people who HATE the food here I would gladly ask them to never return because this place does NOT need your business.

When we first stumbled upon J. Alexander's a few years ago I assume it had recently been converted from a Houston's (I am NOT a Houston's fan - see review). I actually wanted to try this place after driving by because I have friends that live in Nashville that just rave about the amazing brunch. It took a while for J.'s to catch on because we used to never have a wait on Friday/Saturday night but now the wait is typically an hour. That speaks volumes to the people who "hate" the food here. You obviously are not able to be pleased.

I have never had anything below outstanding here nor has anyone I know. See my other reviews I am not easily pleased. The Filet at J's is $31 and rather large and melts like butter right in your mouth. The sides are amazing and interchangeable. You can always customize your order however you like and the service is impeccable.

If you are not looking to spend as much the Hyde Park (chicken sandwich), Burgers, and Fish / Chicken Tacos are all favorites of my friends and I when we are dinging on a budget.

The Pomegranate Martini (sub Lemonade for the OJ) is absolutely the best I've ever had and for $12 with top shelf vodka - you basically get two.

The Mac N Cheese and Carrot Cake are favorites among friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you have visited other locations, you will not be disappointed.

I found the wait staff particularly knowledgeable and professional.

Start with the Queso dip and dive into a beef entree. Don't miss the carrot cake dessert!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed an early dinner at J. Alexander's on New Year's day. As usual the food was great and the service was excellent.
Jerrod, our server, anticipated our needs and fulfilled them before we could even ask! The grilled salmon was perfectly prepared and the barbecued ribs were tender and plentiful. This is a great place for lunch or dinner alone or with a group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Don't get me wrong, the food is VERY good! But the service here is what is impressive. We have been several times over the last few months and every server we've gotten has been friendly and attentive. The coolest thing is that every server is walking by your table and checking to see if you need a refill or if yur dish needs to be cleared. It's just really impressive to see that type of teamwork.
Ok, so the food now! Flatbreads are all good, I like the fennel sausage with carmelized onions the best. Best calamari (it's not chewy like most places) and best Caesar salad ever! Fish tacos, "Not your ordinary" mac and cheese, Thai Kai Salad with peanut dressing, and French Dip sandwich are some of my favs. Haven't had anything that wasn't good yet. Also, Pomegranate Martinis are yummy and come with a little refill on theside in a chilled glass.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“One of my faves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here many times but never gave any feedback. You will not be disappointed. Love the open kitchen atmosphere. This location is a former Houston's restaurant. Love the chicken fingers and macncheese. Large portion of food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody also viewed

 

Been to J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.