We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody

J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody
4701 Ashford Dunwoody Rd, Dunwoody, GA 30338-5503
770-512-0153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Dunwoody
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Meadow Lane
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steak Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While getting acquainted to Atlanta I thought I 'd try this place. I had the ribeye, mashed potatoes and a Cesar salad. Though I ordered to go food the restaurants requires you place orders at the bar only and does not take orders by phone. I'm glad they do that. It seems like a great ploy or business strategy to get you to see the ambiance and order drinks while you wait. The bar tender was super nice and talked me into a glass of wine while I waited. I have to back with friends to dine in soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great business lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is my favorite location to have a business lunch. The menu is great with a wide selection. The hostess always pays attention to the color of your pants and brings a dark cloth napkin if you're wearing a darker color so you don't walk out of there with white spots all over your pants. They are very accommodating with special requests as well. The wait staff works as a team and you can be certain that your drink will be refilled before it is empty. The seating is also great since you can have a business meeting without feeling like others are right on top of you. Great place overall!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A PLACE TO EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great food, great wine list, great atmosphere and the staff complete the great experience. I tried the one in Tennessee and the one in Atlanta and the experience was great at both places.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Huge lunch portions, but tasty. Attentive service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Worth a visit with a colleague - but let them know if you're in a rush. Great selection of salads, but none particularly healthy - beware the tasty croutons and dressings! Busy but well-run.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

High-end style restaurant that actually serves you huge portions, not art on a plate. Incredible food. As an appetizer we had the Southwestern Egg Rolls. They were great. I had the Rattlesnake Pasta and my wife had pork tenderloin, both were really good and huge portions. Most importantly, the mac and cheese side is the greatest single dish ever offered by any restaurant ever - and only $4.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody also viewed

 

Been to J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.