We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I hadn't ..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Shackleford Road, I-85 N & Pleasant Hill Rd., Duluth, GA 30096   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Duluth
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wish I hadn't ..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good location if attending something at the Gwinette Center Arena. Other than that it's really a poor choice. It's not clean, service was poor and property not well maintained. If I had not been with a group I would have certainly changed hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
17
4
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a basketball tournament. The rooms are definitely outdated. The shower curtain rod was falling down, which caused the shower curtain not to stay closed. The tile around the baseboard n the bathroom was missing in spots. The carpet was horribly dirty and disgusting! The ladies bathroom next to the gym had feces around the inside bowl like it hadn't been cleaned in days. There was no paper towels or hand soap in that bathroom either. Then the breakfast was mediocre! I will try to upload pictures so you can see for yourself! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worse enemy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Every hotel chain is in this area so you do have choices. Mine was for price , then location. Business center was closed at the time and carpet being replaced by what looked like water damage. You hear noise in hallways as expected but relatively quiet later in evening. Also most restaurants are nearby and its next to I-85.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angier, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed March 31-April 4,2013..First of all we booked this hotel so my daughter could go swimming at the indoor pool...It was broken and they kept telling us it would be fixed the next day..it was finally fixed Wed. night. The first and second day while walking to room all you could smell was pot. Two nights that we came home there were cop's everywhere. The back entrance to the hotel was not secure, the door was to remain locked and it was always open. The fire alarm in our room started chirping and the front desk told us it wouldnt be util the next day before it was fixed. Everytime they cleaned our room we were only left one bath towel, no handtowels or washrags, just one bath towel for 3 people. As for free Wifi thats only if you are in the main entrance/lobby to hotel..as for the rooms good luck the signal is so low you can't get on...as for the television channels your lucky if you get 9-10 channels most of which are news, sports. Spoke with other guests and they said they would never return. The front desk asked us to stay another night and told them no way..they didn't respond to any of our complaints and only made excuses...

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel...don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
After talking with guest about his complaints, I pulled the house keeping report along with the front desk log and showed him all towels and wash cothes were in his room, the pool was converted over to salt from clorine and the outside pool company was still working on it, and knowone in the hotel listed any complaints about the wifi as we have 24/7 it services and tent cards are in all rooms. During there 3 day stay not one of these complaints were reported as I brought this to his attention. The police were their only because front desk personel called them due to group staying were being loud. The guest only responed it was not his place to report the problems or call the 24/7 IT. Guest was given an refund even though his complaints did not add up as it was shown to him including the Front Desk Manager and Housekeeping Supervisor and Maint. was present at this meeting with them. They were complaints from employees from this guest during his stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Could use a bit of upgrades, but the hotel was very clean, the staff very attentive and considerate, and all at a very affordable price. I was very happy with my stay and would likely stay again. My expectations were met and in some instances exceeded. I have stayed here before and enjoyed the stay better than the last. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit, mention this response and you will recieve 10% off your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta GA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tried again but still no upgrades, old CRT TV with bad picture, incredibly SLOW wireless internet, got a better signal from the Home Depot accross the street!!! The staff, however, was great. Reception on Wednesday nights no longer includes beer and on my latest visit the food was blah, crappy pizza at reception, (and that was the ONLY food), breakfast sausage was burned to a crisp. Great rates though but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter, internet horrible so if you are on business go elsewhere as I had to use my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Do to the laws of Gwinnett Co the hotel can no longer serve beer & wine. The internet was being changed over by Comcast that day, and the guest log shows no complaints from any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights in January 2013 at this hotel and had a very good experience. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and breakfast ample. There was lots of shopping and restaurants in close vicinity of the hotel. Everything in our room worked and the room was clean. The price couldn't be beat and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us we look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place Hotel
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites
Address: 3700 Shackleford Road, I-85 N & Pleasant Hill Rd., Duluth, GA 30096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.