We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Shackleford Road, I-85 N & Pleasant Hill Rd., Duluth, GA 30096   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Duluth
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Could use a bit of upgrades, but the hotel was very clean, the staff very attentive and considerate, and all at a very affordable price. I was very happy with my stay and would likely stay again. My expectations were met and in some instances exceeded. I have stayed here before and enjoyed the stay better than the last. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit, mention this response and you will recieve 10% off your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    11
    12
    15
See reviews for
19
5
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta GA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tried again but still no upgrades, old CRT TV with bad picture, incredibly SLOW wireless internet, got a better signal from the Home Depot accross the street!!! The staff, however, was great. Reception on Wednesday nights no longer includes beer and on my latest visit the food was blah, crappy pizza at reception, (and that was the ONLY food), breakfast sausage was burned to a crisp. Great rates though but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter, internet horrible so if you are on business go elsewhere as I had to use my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Do to the laws of Gwinnett Co the hotel can no longer serve beer & wine. The internet was being changed over by Comcast that day, and the guest log shows no complaints from any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights in January 2013 at this hotel and had a very good experience. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and breakfast ample. There was lots of shopping and restaurants in close vicinity of the hotel. Everything in our room worked and the room was clean. The price couldn't be beat and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us we look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I like that even though the hotel's close to the Interstate and the place is urban/suburban, it's pretty quiet. Aside from the listless guy at the counter (it was late afternoon), checking in was straightforward, it was a breeze. The room we got for the price we paid was really big, too big it's got me thinking that this one's for senior citizens / disabled people. The TV's still an old tube but has cable so it was alright. It comes with a fridge, but no safe, not that we needed it. Internet's free and the signal from our room was acceptable. The room came with complimentary breakfast and the good thing with the breakfast is it's not your usual bread/fruit/juice/coffee, you get eggs & sausage too. The lobby's pretty comfy but I don't think it would accommodate all guests if they all went out at the same time for breakfast. I'd stay here again if I were looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Mention this response and get 10% off your next stay. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was awoken by Housekeeping at 9:30am even though I had put out the don't disturb sign the night before. The maid said there wasn't any sign and then she reached into here cart and put the sign back on the door. Since it was Thanksgiving I am sure she was ready to get off early. The "breakfast was the usual Comfort in fare. The heat up round egg patties and pasty sausage patties. The pastries were a joke and the juices were either to strong or watered down. The rooms are okay but the TV's are from the 90's but the location is great, right across the street from a good seafood place and really good Chinese buffet. To top it off front desk thought I needed a reminder call at 10:30 to see if I was leaving. Checkout was at 11 so why would they bother you before that. unless they wanted to get rid of you? I am a choice elite gold member, but with treatment like this I may not make it to elite platinum. There is a Holiday Inn express next door I have stayed at that is waaaay better. Oh and after 8 am the floor was like a school yard with people hollering and shouting in the hall. If your an early riser...like 7 or 8 it is okay as the bed and room was nice, but don't count on the breakfast or trying to sleep in

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I booked this room for two nights when in town for business. To be honest, the price was really competitive. But I expected more from Comfort Suites. The whole building and rooms are outdated. But most everything can be updated with some simple touch ups. Let me list by pros and cons.

PROS:
- price
- big rooms
- ok breakfast
- has amenities
- comfy bed

CONS:
- staff was not very accommodating, had to wait while front desk staff chatted with other staff.
- outdated!
- bathroom was not clean. I grew up in the motel business and noticed that showers and toilet were not cleaned.
- old and musty smell in the whole building
- banged up furniture
- barely functioning business center (decided to check in at the airport the computer was so slow.
- rusty bathroom finishings
- gym equipment was in pretty bad shape
- old bulb tvs that made high pitched noise

Basically, you can tell the management does the BARE minimum to stay in the franchise. The place would be a whole lot better and would be able to charge a bit more if they changed the nasty old carpet, painted the walls, bought new furniture (not from a used hotel furniture broker), focused on higher cleaning standards and just did a bit more than the bare minimum. If you're on a budget, this place is ok. If you spend a bit more, there are a lot of choices that would be better.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nothing to recommend here. There are much better choices all around this area if you look harder. My room was stuffy and outdated. It seemed clean enough but everything was dog eared. The breakfast area in the lobby is extremely small and uncomfortable. The price per room night is the lowest around but you get waht you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Address: 3700 Shackleford Road, I-85 N & Pleasant Hill Rd., Duluth, GA 30096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.