We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Duluth
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff was so friendly at this Sonesta, I felt compelled to write about it on Trip Advisor. I purchased a Groupon deal (I got a tremendous price through this service btw) for a three night stay. My wife was traveling with me so we wanted and had specified a King sized bed. Unfortunately, the room had two full sized beds. When I requested a swap the front desk person, Joyce, had technical difficulty getting the new room. While we waited for the fix, she gave me free drinks in their bar and when the glitch was fixed she gave me a suite room for having to wait. The rest of the staff was just as friendly and professional. The breakfast bar is terrific and came with the Groupon offer. Bundle it if you can because it is worth it. The only negative I had was a noisy group next door on the last night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I lenjoy being able to share the stories with our staff, and they love knowing they have left a good impression with our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our property. Be on the lookout for more great deals where you can enjoy our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    70
    23
    7
    11
See reviews for
52
41
18
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was having a sore throat, pains in my bones and joints from this flu I picked up the night before. I went for breakfast in the Sonesta Gwinnett Place in Atlanta and asked the lady at the entrance if I could get a chicken soup instead of the breakfast buffet since that soup would most likely make me feel better. She said they normally don't serve chicken soup at breakfast but was going to ask the chef. A few minutes later she came back with the reaction of the chef: no chicken soup. I was really disappointed with this reaction.
Another few minutes later this kind lady Sejla came to me asking whether I had asked for a chicken soup to which I answered affirmative. She just wanted to let me know that she just gave orders to the chef to make me the chicken soup.
Now that is what I call taking responsibility and pride in giving good service to your guests. You have the chicken and all the other ingredients. Why not help someone who can start feeling better because of the soup.
Thanks Selja, the chicken soup made me feel a lot better as you've probably noticed when I walked out!
Because Selja corrected what had initially gone wrong I still rank 5 them dots.

I also want to compliment Carmelita.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. I am so happy to hear that we were able to take care of you and that you left with a great impression of our staff. I love hearing stories like that. I have shared your review with our staff and use it as an example for all to follow. I'm Glad you are feeling better....there is nothing worse than being sick on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I travel a lot. This time was for Catalyst 2013. The hotel was packed and can really stretch the staff pleasing so many during such a large event. They kept a smile on their face, always polite and will to go the extra mile. Thank you Daisy and Ashley for an easy and friendly check out and thanks for going out of your way to assist me this morning Temaran (go Miami Heat) Lisa Lupola Momentum Church Gulf Breeze, Florida

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I thought my experience at Hilton Head Island's Sonesta Resort was the best I ever had, BUT when I re-visited what is now Sonesta Gwinnett Place it really took the cake! I remembered front desk personnel Daisy and I am overwhelmed with joy that she is still with your company. She is the absolute most patient and personable front desk person that you could ever meet. This hotel will remain profitable while having guest to have a "Daisy" to greet them as their first point of contact. I love it! My fiancé and I are enjoying our stay immensely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I couldn't say more about this location. The staff and service personnel are attentive, responsive, knowledgeable and an all-around precision team! I'll definitely be staying here anytime I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I was in a group and no one mentioned any drawbacks to their rooms. The building itself is easily ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The customer service was outstanding, especially Ashley, and Robert, at the front desk. The breakfast buffet at the Grapevine was also outstanding. I would stay there again. The only thing that I wish they had more of was television stations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The stay, Food & service was great. Amsale remembered me from a previous stay and brought out my drink without asking. Tea half cut. The bell men Terence & Skip took care of use on the road. Hope to see everyone soon. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you’ll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It’s all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-85 in the northeastern suburb of Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Indulge in our whirlpool. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you’ll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Dinner is offered daily in the Kaets our fine dining steakhouse. Or settle in for a nightcap at Button’s Lounge. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;