We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, Not so good banquet food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta to your Saves list
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Duluth
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great room, Not so good banquet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was great, soft bed, nice pillows, not the foam type that are springy. Rooms were quiet. Security to keep people out, need to use room card/key to use elevator. Nice idea. Banquet food was not so good. Chicken breast was dry, gravy/sauce, was pasty. Potatoes were dry and a hard glob. Butter did soften the potatoes some. Seems like they sat dished up for a very long time. All at our table agreed. We were told breakfest was not included in our room rate. Ate breakfest first day, was not worth $13.73.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, but am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner. I would be interesed to know what group you were with so that I can provide more detailed information to my Executive Chef. We take a lot of pride in our product and service, so anytime we hear someone was less than satisfied, we take it very seriously and always work to improve. I hope that you will visit us again if you are in the Duluth area. Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    90
    35
    7
    11
See reviews for
60
51
21
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This location is nice and a little off the very congested road by a red light, so easy in and out. Not impressed with the service, possibly because our group was too large? We will be staying at a competitive property this fall due to the slow service, meal issues and inability to handle concierge requests.

Room Tip: Reconsider going north two exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

i stayed here 1 night as my best friend was having his wedding here. as usual a full service Marriott is a full service Marriott. the service was great and we had no problems. not a single hiccup during the wedding and our stay here. the location is a bit far north of Atlanta, but was in the general area of a lot of the guests.

the rooms are simple and comfy. enough space and super comfy beds. didn't stay in the rooms enough as we had a bit of a party occurring downstairs. Marriott did an excellent job with the wedding and it was a great ceremony and reception.

thanks for everything Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business. The first thing that struck me about this hotel was the bright coloured decor. It was perhaps not my choice of colours however it was certainly warm and welcoming which matched perfectly with the staff in this hotel.

I stayed in a room with a king bed. The room was spacious and soptlessly clean. Good blockout curtains, quiet, effective airconditioning and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size and the shower had great water pressure and really nice hot water.

I had a room service meal one night. The meal arrived in a timely manner, served hot and very tatsy. Even more impressive again was the great attitude of the staff member that served the meal.

The Breakfast offered was either buffet or alacarte selection. The food was nicely presented, fresh and tasty. Again, very friendly and attentive service.

I really enjoyed this hotel. It was bright, spacious and comfortable and above all the staff made you feel like an honoured guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for our nephew's wedding and found the facility and service to be very good. The family also arranged to have the rehearsal dinner here and the food was good and the staff very helpful. We also got a very good price for the entire family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel. Very helpful staff. Close to the expressway (i-85) and numerous restaurants.Clean modern rooms. Ample parking. Would definitely recommend if in the Duluth area. Onsite restaurants are fairly expensive but there is a grocery store (Publix) a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm rating this as a Marriott Platinum Member as well. I stay at this hotel quite often and it is my choice of hotel when passing through Atlanta. It is very convenient to great restaurants and actually has an excellent Steakhouse in the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Also... very convenient to I-85. Indoor/outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and fitness center.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you’ll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It’s all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-85 in the northeastern suburb of Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Indulge in our whirlpool. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you’ll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Dinner is offered daily in the Kaets our fine dining steakhouse. Or settle in for a nightcap at Button’s Lounge. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.