We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kurt's Euro Bistro

Kurt's Euro Bistro
3305 Peachtree Industrial Blvd, Ste 100, Duluth, GA 30096 (Formerly Kurt's and Vreny's Restaurant and Biergarten)
+1 770-623-4128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kurt's Euro Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 301 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Peachtree Industrial
Description: Kurt's now offers a Neighborhood Euro Bistro in Duluth, Georgia, concentrating on the freshest ingredients and local flavors in a small, intimate atmosphere with a great wine selection and full bar. Our family-owned business and romantic restaurant focuses on what is best in the world of delicious dining. We like to think outside the box and offer dishes that you won't find elsewhere. Many of Kurt's classics are available with some new, modern cuisine options that we are sure our customers will love. Kurt's has been serving first-class cuisine for more than 28 years and still continues to offer a varied selection of foods spanning the entire spectrum of the culinary world. We are dedicated to using the finest, local ingredients and offering the best food at reasonable prices.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We dined on a Monday night before a show so the restaurant was not busy. nonetheless, our service was good, the meal was good and the prices were in line. all and all a pleasant meal and we would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Clueless at Kurt's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We decided, being Octoberfest, it would be a great time for food and music at Kurt's. Their new location has a small outdoor patio, and that's where the music is. At their old location the patio was often packed, the restaurant often empty.
Being seated right in front of the stage we expected a prompt greeting, like in the old days. After an extended wait we were finally told our server was training a new guy, and would be with us shortly. It became apparent she had lots of indoor tables, and only two patio tables. We should have fled right then, But Kurt was wandering around, surely things would get straightened out.
The spetzle appetiser was still amazing, a large portion and wondefully tasty. Unfortunately the kitchen failed on the schnitzel, not done as requested, with tired, luke warm veggies. No one ever asked why we scrapped them off. No one ever took away the dirty dishes. Even though Kurt wandered by, he never cared to ask if we were enjoying supper.
The band was great, and it was a perfect evening to be out on the patio. As we walked out we noted out server had several large indoor parties, it was no wonder she never made it back to the patio. Apparently Mgt was uncaring about her inablity to give good service.
As we left no one asked if we had a good time, no one cared if we'd be back. For the metro ATL area it was one of our worst dining experiences in years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eisman1969, Owner at Kurt's Euro Bistro, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are truly concerned regarding your latest experience with us. Albeit inexcusable, we were a bit overwhelmed by the response we got by non-reservation patrons who came in that evening. We had to pull the servers together to serve everyone and we are sorry if you were lost in the shuffle. We encourage you to try us again so that we can prove that we are your new neighborhood bistro and that management is dedicated that everyone has a great experience each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

the Steaks are some of the best I ever had. the atmosphere is real nice and the service is fantastic! the food is European and the bread and soft pretzels are to die for! you want go wrong with this place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Roast Beef, not Sauerbraten”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I'd been looking forward to going to Kurt's, but was disappointed. I'm from Cincinnati where there are many German restaurants, so have eaten good German food often. The sauerbraten tasted like good roast beef, but it had absolutely no other flavors, no taste of spices at all. It was as if they just totally forgot to marinate it. The place looked OK and the side dishes, drinks and service were alright, except the waitress said I could not substitute another starch for the spaetzle, even if I was willing to pay extra to do it. That seemed a little stiff. All the positive reviews make me want to give Kurt's another try, but next time it will definitely not be sauerbraten.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta suburbs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I recently went with my husband to Kurt’s to celebrate our anniversary. We have been there several times, but not to their latest location (which is very close to their original location). The restaurant’s new location is much smaller than the old one, but the food is every bit as delicious. I had the Bistro salad & the Chicken Scallopini Milanaise, and my husband had a Caesar salad & the Schwabian Platter. The food was wonderful! Our waitress was unbelievably attentive. The atmosphere of Kurt’s feels very intimate. My understanding from the web site for Kurt’s is that the restaurant was scaled back or downsized to stay afloat in the difficult economy. I think they’ve done an excellent job, and we were pleased to see that the place was packed when we drove up. I would hate to think of Kurt’s closing down—we always have a superb dining experience when we come here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurt's Euro Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kurt's Euro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurt's Euro Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.