We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good South Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Udipi Cafe

Udipi Cafe
3300 Peachtree Industrial Blvd #J, Duluth, GA 30096
678-584-5840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 301 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Alpharetta, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good South Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have very good south Indian food. Try their Dosas if you want a south Indian delicacy. If you want something spicy try their rasa vadas.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Marvelous South India Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Since we're going to Chennai soon, I asked friends to recommend restaurants with South Indian food we could try. They recommended two, and this is the closest. Honestly, it was worth the half hour drive, whether or not we wanted to acquaint ourselves with food from this part of India. The food was delicious and not expensive at all.

At least one member of every party who came in on a Saturday night was Indian. Our waitress explained everything without being patronizing. As another reviewer has noted, they carry food from other parts of India, but their specialities are South Indian. I left feeling like I'd been to another world, in terms of taste. The decor is simple and vanilla - you could be at any kind of restaurant. Still, worth driving to the northern suburbs!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When you crave for South Indian food . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

You won't go wrong for a casual lunch with friends or family or business associates. Or dinner. They have added few more non-South Indian items to their menu. Great veterinarian experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were warmly welcomed to this unpretentious vegetarian restaurant. Many of the other guests were Indian, a good sign when visiting an Indian restaurant. It’s a family friendly place suitable for young children. We were a rather large group so were able to order many dishes. Everything was delicious! My favorite was probably the mushroom karavali which was rich and well spiced with meaty chunks of mushroom. The batura bread, a giant puffy round piece of freshly made bread was also delicious (if watching your calories be aware that it is deep fried) as was the samosa chat. The stuffing of the masala dosa was tasty, though the dosa itself would be better if it were more crispy. I highly recommend the Udipi Cafe for a luscious meal. Try to go with lots of friends or family members so you can order a large variety of different things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rude Staff, Incomplete Takeout Order”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I called Uidipi Cafe to order a Masala Dosai to go. The man on the phone was very rude and practically hung up on me! When I arrived at the restaurant, he was just as rude in person!

I live 20 minutes from Udipi and imagine my chagrin when I got home and realized they forgot to put the potato filling in my take out bag! The potato filling is the main ingredient in a Masala Dosai! I will not be back!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udipi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Udipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udipi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.