We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Of Thai

Taste Of Thai
2911 Chapel Hill Rd Ste 245, Douglasville, GA 30135
(770) 577-4142
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 160 restaurants in Douglasville
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Villa Rica, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Secret Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

You'd never think to look for such a good Thai restaurant nestled into a side strip mall (although nice one) off a main drag in Douglasville. But there it is, near an ink place and an ice cream parlor. The food is fabulous and fresh. The wait staff is very pleasant. And it is immaculate! I've never had anything to eat there that wasn't very good. The only downside is that the wait for food is typically longer than your typical chain restaurant, but then again this is a popular place (because it's that good) and the food is truly made to order. It is worth the wait (I checked reviews here before I went the first time, some tie ago, and that was what they said and they were right!).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    11
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Area
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprise in a strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well, we WERE surprised the first time we went there. Been back several times. Always a treat. We've tried several things over the past few years and always come away satisfied. As my wife isn't in to the "spicy" things, it is important to emphasis to your waitstaff that you want MILD. The basil rolls and sauce are a great way to start. I tried the Bangkok Chicken tonight for the first time. Excellent! Battered and deep fried in a thin "tempura" type way, just right. Served with a "special Thai sauce" that was just the right spicy hotness for me. The crispness of the chicken remained even with the sauce. Nice. I put that on my "will order again" list.

Atmosphere: A small place, welcoming, maybe 12 - 15 tables. Nice decor, typical of a Thai type place. Great for a couple get-a-way. Tonight (Saturday evening) was busy, but often we have dined with only 1 or 2 other tables occupied. We have never felt "rushed."

I picked this for my 66th birthday dinner, so you know I like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Coconut Soup and Panang Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a tasty Thai restaurant at a reasonable price on the West Side of Atlanta in Douglasville, GA. The coconut soup and panang curry are awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I love Thai food. We ordered the calamari which was pretty good. Sauce was so so. The basil spring rolls which I loved very fresh. My husband wasn't a fan. We each ordered a pangang dish. I really enjoyed that. I tried the coconut soup because of all the great recommendations but was a little disappointed. It was freezing inside. To the point we ate fairly quickly and didn't linger because we were way too cold to take our coats off. That was a little disappointing. Service was pretty good very quick. shared mango sticky rice dessert. If u like rice pudding you'll love this.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped by here on a whim Saturday night. We were seated promptly. Its a small-medium size establishment. The waitress was really nice. I ordered the Bangkok chicken and my husband ordered the Rama dish. My dish was excellent, it taste just like general tso chicken and my husband's dish was a peanut sauce and coconut milk blend with other spices. It was good, although I am not keen on coconut milk. The spring rolls are great. The only downside was our seating, we were seated across from the doorway so every time the door opened we were hit with a blast of cold air. Other than this, I was satisfied with our meal experience. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taste Of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.