We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room reeked...couldn't stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5487 Westmoreland Plaza, Douglasville, GA 30134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Douglasville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room reeked...couldn't stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I called ahead and was told that the hotel only had a double bed smoking. Since my wife and I are both smokers, we decided to get the room. We arrived , checked in and retrieved our luggage from the car, however, when we got to the room and opened the door, it reeked horribly! It smelled as if there was a poker game full of smokers (both cigarette and cigar) that had concluded 10 minutes prior to us opening the door. If it smells too bad for 2 smokers to stay in, then it smells bad! We returned to the desk and were given a refund.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for visiting our property here in Douglasville. It is deeply regrettable that you were unable to enjoy all that we have to offer due to your experience with one of our Designated Smoking Rooms. Under natural circumstances my staff any myself do all that we can to accommodate our guests through any and all issues that may arise, as seen by offering a full refund to you as an unsatisfied guest . Having only one room available when you called to make your reservation, it is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you better. Please, If in the area again, come visit us and see all that we truly have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel did the job for us we were In town on business and needed a place to crash for a few hours. The rooms were clean, and beds were comfy. Breakfast was ok but it's not a buffet as stated on website.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were moving from NC to AZ with pets and stayed here as we enjoy Choice Hotels and we were not disappointed. The front desk gave us a ground floor room to make dog walking and car unloading easier. Thank you for making our very long, tiring trip less stressful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, AL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had to spend the night in Douglasville and decided to try Comfort Inn, since we had always had good experiences with them in the past. They did not disappoint us. Brittany, at the front desk, could not have been more helpful. The room was clean and quiet and we got a great night of sleep. Would definitely stay again if we needed to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald C, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share the experience that you had here at our property in Douglasville. We take extreme pride in assisting all of our guest’s day in and day out, so I am thrilled to know that Brittany is continuing to offer the level of service that you and I both expect from a Front desk agent. It gives me great pleasure to know that you have high expectations for the Comfort Inn brand, and even more knowing that we lived up to and/or exceeded those same expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to stray off the raceway during holiday traffic for a more peaceful road to travel towards our north Georgia destination. As it was getting late and obvious we were not going to arrive at a decent time we located this inn and what a pleasant surprise! From check in to check out it was a breeze. The room was comfortable, warm and clean and the breakfast inclusion made for an overall good value and time saver so we could continue our journey.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Personnel is very friendly. Property is clean and well kept. Breakfast is delicious and maintained often. Room rates are very reasonable. Location is great for activities that we come for. Rooms are nice and beds very comfortable. This is our third time to stay at this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin tx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife found this hotel for me while I was driving. I wanted to get through Atlanta before stopping for the night. Of all the places I have stayed while on the road, this has got to be ONE OF THE BEST FOR THE MONEY! I have paid well over $100 a night for rooms this nice and this one was less than $60.00. King sized bed, plenty of big soft pillows, huge walk in shower really really CLEAN! The lady at the front desk faxed in some paper work for my job with no questions asked. She helped me with the rewards programs this hotel offers, anything I needed, she did with a smile. The hotel is close to the freeway but not noisy in anyway. The breakfast was actually pretty good and I am a southerner! From there I went to Chickamauga Battlefield and learned a little history, it was 80 miles north. If you find yourself on the road on the west side of Atlanta, do yourself a favor and stop in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Douglasville
Douglasville Comfort Inn
Address: 5487 Westmoreland Plaza, Douglasville, GA 30134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Douglasville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Douglasville
#4 Family Hotel in Douglasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit The Comfort Inn, Douglasville, Georgia a tranquil high ceiling lobby property with ambient music to usher you in to a blissful stay. Our designated "Your Morning Breakfast" is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Douglasville the perfect way to start your day. Our food offering consist of eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors. Guests of this Douglasville, GA hotel are also invited to enjoy the exercise room, with an elliptical machine, weights and treadmill as well as our Outdoor Pool. Business travelers to our Georgia hotel will appreciate conveniences like our business computer and access to copy and fax services including complimentary long-distance calls including Canada. We almost forgot, you generally stay for the rooms. Not only do we have the above standard rooms in regards to cleanliness, we also have rooms with full-size kitchens. This way, you not only feel like you're at home, but you can cook one of your home recipe. Stay with the Comfort Inn, Douglasville, GA, we provide more than just a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.