We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fun atmosphere, huge portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Bred Pub

Irish Bred Pub
6682 Broad St, Douglasville, GA 30134
678-324-1649
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 162 Restaurants in Douglasville
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fun atmosphere, huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I frequently visit Irish Bred Pub in Douglasville and always leave satisfied. You can't beat the bangers and mash, and make sure that if you order fries, get them Irish with gravy and cheese on top! The only reason that I give it 4 stars over 5 is that they changed a favorite dish, the potato soup, and it is, quite frankly, terrible.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High expectations, low reality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited friends in Douglasville area and looked for a different dining experience, decided on this spot after taking a look at the great pub food menu online. Should have kept looking. The only thing that was exceptional at this place was the hostess, who greeted us warmly on a rainy day outside and seated us promptly. Service was questionable since our waiter was not up to par with getting our orders right, and brought things out whenever, and forgot part of our order (which we assumed he was writing down). The Brunswick stew was too sweet, pork chops were small and crumble breaded (like Shake and Bake), mac and cheese tasted like paste and flavorless, apple slices were canned pie filling, potato soup had a funny taste to it (maybe it was old?). The fresh fried potato chips were decent, but that was the only saving grace on the food. I was really expecting some good food at this place but was sorely disappointed - especially with an almost $80 bill which could have been spent elsewhere with good service and way better food. Will not be returning... ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like Murphy's Law! ALL BAD start to finish I got rained on for THIS?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went here excited about the menu we saw online. Greeter was great then oh boy... Waiter was truly a space cadet. Brought out one drink at a time. Drinks are needed to stomach the food. After the potato chips it was all downhill. Potato soup was terrible, cold salty and tasted burnt. He brought out one bowl at a time. What they don't have trays?? Waiter brought out the same nasty soup twice and forgot my sister's brunswick stew. GAG, it tasted like sweet bbq sauce and corn. Then he brought out the pork chops entrees and the pannini we ordered. Waiter went off on me about some french fries I DIDN'T order! I think I know what I ordered! Then he came back and stood at our table and made a smart mouth remark about what was he gonna do with that order of free fries. I bit my tongue cause I had quite a few suggestions of what he could do with em! The pork chops were those tiny dry cutlets in shake n bake. My sister's salad looked like a whole bag of spinach dumped in a bowl topped with the world's driest piece of chicken breast. Total for this foolishness was $81.76 since he forgot to delete those nasty soups! I could have gone to a real restaurant for that! I will NEVER go back! This place is only tasty to the already drunk...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Pub with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Always consistently good food. Large portions, tasty food. The bangers and mash, fish and shepherds pie are all delicious. Be sure to get a side of there mac n' cheese. Sandwiches aren't bad either. Not expensive but not cheap either. Parking can be a bit of a pain in Downtown Douglasville, which sometimes drives me away from eating here but other than that it is is very good and should not be disapointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband had the Bangers and Mash and Mac and cheese, I had chicken avocado sandwich with broccoli salad. Appetizer of jalepeno pretzel was so good! Mixed drinks were awesome and service was great. Live band playing and wasn't too loud like at some places we have been. Definitely a nice place to go for dinner or lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Bred Pub also viewed

 
Douglasville, GA
 

Been to Irish Bred Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Bred Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.