We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Royal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8366 Duralee Lane, Douglasville, GA 30134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Douglasville
Woodbine, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My son & stayed here for 2 nights on a Six Flags trip. It's about 10 - 15 minutes from the park and was reasonably priced. The room was clean and comfortable and included a refrigerator and microwave. They offer coffee & breakfast. My only complaint was that on a night that was not crowded, I somehow still received a 2nd floor room, which is kind of a pain as far as unpacking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ms
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

the owners are very cheap, and rude. carpet was filthy. there was 6 of us traveling together in 2 rooms, each room only had 2 towels, and 2 rags. when asked for more, they gave us 2 more. then the other traveling with us went down to get more, and they made us give them one of the towels we got. on the 3rd day, (we did not want housekeeping) we asked to trade out towels, they gave us 2 each and said we would have to wait until the others washed and dried, and there were maybe 40 people tops staying there? when we finally did go ask for more towels, they were very rude and would not give us any until my sister and my wife got very nasty with them. then to top it off it was the day for us to leave, and one of the male workers was standing down in the parking lot stalking us, and at 11:02 the lady was knocking on all the doors of the ones who were supposed to check out at 11 asking if they were leaving yet, we were out of our room, but the ones next to us were still getting luggage out. the breakfast consisted of 2 kinds of cereal and coffee, the carpet in our room had burn holes all in it, we spilled something and trying to do the right thing and dry it up, was sprite, and the towel we wiped it up with was black by the time we dried the sprite up. the beds are not very comfy, very hard almost like sleeping on the floor. the ac worked good, but was either on or off. no in between. the room did have a fridge, and microwave, tv had lots of channels, location is convenient, and quiet. for the price it was ok, the staff was awful, and the service even worse. could use a little updating, and it is very obvious the owners are cheap. there was also no hair dryer which the women did not like. the shower curtains looked really old. would stay again if only for 1 or 2 night, but not for 5 like we did this go round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were driving from Charlotte to Houston and were looking for a cheap hotel on the west side of Atlanta. This Royal Inn was perfect. Good price, clean room, easy access, firm bed. Simple but solid, not the Ritz but just what we wanted and expected. After two weeks on the road with some poor hotel stays this restful night was appreciated

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Manager and his wife has nasty attitudes with Locals,Blacks,and what "They" consider trashy white people. They have one side for who they feel doesnt meet up to "Their" standards,and the other side,for those that are out of town,or people that they feel have a little money; it's obvious that "They" discriminate!! that is why several of us have joined to gather to file a discrimination suit against them! The wife is very nasty! They try to please whites,while treating others any kind of way! That is not how we do it here in the USA. I had 2 rooms,and kids,that They didnt even want to be seen outiside playing(Black of course),but their own wld play outside freely! Bad business!!!! very unfriendly!!! we have consumer/customer Rights!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

On a weekender to Atlanta for shopping at the Dekalb International Market, Wife and I decided to stay the night in Douglasville. We use interstate traveler coupon books for research and better rates on lodging. The coupon for Royal Inn stated “New” and “Hot Breakfast” for $45.00 per night.
As my wife remarked, “If this place is new, then I’m a beauty queen.” While the rooms/facilities were not run-down shabby, it was far, far from new construction. And, I’m sorry but, a hot breakfast consists of more than do-it-yourself waffle and coffee. Yes, they had a few cereal choices, milk and juice. However, the only “hot” items were the waffle and coffee. We’ve partaken of better cold continental breakfasts with more choices and offerings at establishments we paid less for per night.
A major repeat stay deal breaker was the beds. Lord, I think a slab of stone would have been more comfy. Granted, it is hard to find an inexpensive hotel with decent beds nowadays, but these were awful to the extreme.
On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the family who owns and operates Royal Inn were very nice and helpful. They were not banging on the door and swooshing us out at 11 o’clock on the dot like some places.

Room Tip: Use coupon books from gas stations and rest stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 8366 Duralee Lane, Douglasville, GA 30134
Location: United States > Georgia > Douglasville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Douglasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Atlanta, the Royal Inn of Douglasville is within driving distance to Sweetwater Creek State Park, Historic Downtown Douglasville, Douglasville Convention Center, and Clark Atlanta University. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, an onsite guest laundry, and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.